Visit 3CX at this year's VMworld.

Catch 3CX at VMworld 2015 in San Francisco!

July 27, 2015 - 12:05pm

3CX is an exhibitor at this year's VMworld 2015 in San Francisco, California at the Moscone Center, on August 30 - September 3. VMworld 2015 US will bring together thought leaders, subject matter experts, and IT professionals to immerse themselves in

featured image_case study

3CX Improves Communication Standards for Russian Publishing House

July 14, 2015 - 11:00am

The Krasnodar branch of the Komsomolskaya Pravda Publishing House produces a highly regarded newspaper within its Russian territory. The newspaper covers current events relevant to the Krasnodar territory and keeps its readers up to date on the latest

Upcoming 3CX Webinars

3CX PBX • View topic - Skype and 3CX
3CX PBX • View topic - Skype and 3CX

Skype and 3CX

User to User - Answers are provided by the community. 3CX does NOT provide technical support via this forum. Commercial grade support should NOT be expected

Moderator: 3CX staff

Skype and 3CX

Postby PCTurnkey » Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:03 pm

Skype connect seems to be WAY to pricey. Is there a way I can use my personal account, or setup the company's account to use Skype as the VoIP provider and have it just pull from Skype credit when routing outbound calls?

I've seen some Russian, 3rd party software that will connect Skype to 3CX, but I wanted to know if there is a straightforward way to do it.

Thanks
PCTurnkey
New User
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:36 pm

Re: Skype and 3CX

Postby leejor » Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:18 am

Not being one that uses a pay service with Skype, I'm not sure how that all works (what you can, and can't do).

However, you can connect to the "free" Skype (non-SIP) service using the 3CX Skype Gateway. I don't believe that it is "officially" supported any longer, but as long as you use an older version of Skype (see...http://www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/skype.html ), then you should have no problem.

After you install Skype be sure to disable any automatic version updates.
leejor
3CX Valued Professional
3CX Valued Professional
 
Posts: 7263
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:54 pm
Location: WEsT Coast of Canada

Re: Skype and 3CX

Postby jeinstei » Sat Mar 31, 2012 1:43 am

Excellent answer. If you want to do it yourself with a bit more work, siptosis gateway can be configured on any machine to provide a generic skype interface. It acts pretty much the same, but not as easy to use/install.
jeinstei
New User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 1:39 am


Return to 3CX Phone System - General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests