Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

1 extension not working

Discussion in 'Windows' started by IainMcA, Mar 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IainMcA

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I work in an office with about 20 extensions set up. Last Friday everything worked fine came in this morning and quickly realized this one extension was not working. Checked all phone settings,factory reset phone and re-set all phone setting, checked all setting in 3cx console, phone settings and 3cx settings look identical to other extensions that are working fine. When trying to call the extension internally recieve message "cancelled". Logs show
    [CM503003]: Call(698): Call to sip:116@(server IP) has failed; Cause: 401 Unauthorized; from IP:(phones IP):5060[CM503016]: Call(698): Attempt to reach <sip:802@(server IP):5060> failed. reason: Not Acceptable HereReason Unknown
    Any suggestions?
    thanks
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    329
    So...the extension that is not working , is 116, or 802? Could there be some sort of call forwarding error involved?
     
  3. IainMcA

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The extension is 116, 802 is the group that he is in.
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    329
    It might help if you posted the entire log from when the call first originated up until it failed. Did you originally call (or an incoming call to) the ring group and this is a member of that group? Did the call ring other sets within that ringroup?
     
  5. IainMcA

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    15:18:03.337 [CM503008]: Call(737): Call is terminated
    15:17:59.951 [CM503007]: Call(737): Device joined: sip:EndCall@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=b367f79b83f3dfd2
    15:17:59.936 [CM503007]: Call(737): Device joined: sip:107@(working phones IP):5060
    15:17:59.936 [CM503002]: Call(737): Alerting sip:EndCall@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=b367f79b83f3dfd2
    15:17:59.773 [CM503025]: Call(737): Calling Unknown:Ext.EndCall@[Dev:sip:EndCall@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=b367f79b83f3dfd2]
    15:17:59.703 [CM503016]: Call(737): Attempt to reach <sip:116@(server IP)> failed. Reason: Not Acceptable HereReason Unknown
    15:17:59.697 [CM503003]: Call(737): Call to sip:116@(server IP) has failed; Cause: 401 Unauthorized; from IP:(phones IP)::5060
    15:17:59.402 [CM503025]: Call(737): Calling Ext:Ext.116@[Dev:sip:116@(phones IP)::5060]
    15:17:59.358 [CM503004]: Call(737): Route 1: Ext:Ext.116@[Dev:sip:116@(phones IP):5060]
    15:17:59.353 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:116@(server IP)>
    15:17:59.350 [CM505001]: Ext.107: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Linksys;Mod: SPA series;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Linksys/SPA942-6.1.5(a)] PBX contact: [sip:107@(server IP):5060]
    15:17:59.344 [CM503001]: Call(737): Incoming call from Ext.107 to <sip:116@(server IP)>

    Ext 116 is not working, ext 107 was where call was placed from here, same errors when placed from other extensions. I have removed him from the group he was in to try and eliminate variables. All other phones in ring group are working. Before removing from the group I happened to be watching the extension status during an incoming call and all extensions in the group lit except 116.
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    329
    You've hidden the IP's so you can't tell what IP it's unauthorised from, the originators or the IP of the terminating set.
     
  7. IainMcA

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    (phones IP) is ext 116 IP, (server ip) 3cx server, (working phones IP) ext 107 IP
     
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    329
    Ok, assuming that the datafill of Ext 116 is all correct. Change the settings (user/password) in the set to that of another extension, even a duplicate of another working extension in the same ring group, or, just create a brand new stand alone extension (and create one in 3CX). If calls to the set still fail then there is either a common setting (network,etc.) that is incorrect, or, perhaps there is a problem with that particular phone (corruption/firmware?).

    Since this began without anything else being changed, I would suspect "bad set" software/hardware, if it still won't work when configured as a completely different extension.
     
  9. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've seen this behaviour, and don't know what causes it. But I suspect it's related to a version upgraded 3cx installation, and/or removing and adding an extension. This was an issue immediately after an upgrade from v8 to v9, where the call routing was somewhat complex and some extensions had forwarding rules that weren't preserved.

    In the end, to rid of this (and other strange behaviours), I had to go through the 3cx configuration website, change something trivial, apply, change the trivial thing back, and re-apply.

    In some cases I would get a dialogue on "apply", advising me of an issue that need to be corrected. I don't remember them all, but they were similar to "oh, by the way - .wav files are no longer allowed".

    It's like some configuration settings that v9 expected to have were blank or non-existent after the upgrade, and clicking "apply" stamped the new installation with something. Similar to a schema upgrade ;-).

    Hope that helps - Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. IainMcA

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help on this. It appears the issue is with the phone, re-prod a new phone to that extension everything works fine. Tried to upgrade firmware/software on old phone and that wont even work, the software finds the phone fine, get message on phone saying upgrading firmware will reboot when complete, then it reboots but never upgrades the firmware. Maybe i should make a thread in a cisco or linksys forum... but just in case you're here already and know a solution its a SPA942 phone Software Version: 5.1.15(a) Hardware Version: 1.0.2(3433)
     
  11. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    Were you using the provisioning system on the SPA or were you using Ciscos app on your pc to try the update on the bad handset?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.