Solved 15.5 Hotel Features not showing up.

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by lvhotel, Jun 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lvhotel

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    *solved* Install 15.5 then back then reinstall.

    I just updated to the 15.5 version from 14 (had to wait for hotel features) and the hotel features aren't showing.

    Has anyone else run into this? I'm wondering if there is a remnant in the backup file that I use from all the upgrades we've done over the last couple years, in the parameters or some where that is prohibiting it from showing. Or if it is a license issue.

    My license shows I am a licensed using a pro version. My maintenance shows expired at 3 am today, but I switched to the annual license when offered a free year so my license is still valid.
     
    #1 lvhotel, Jun 11, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2017
  2. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi,

    What I have noticed is that the Hotel Feature only showing up if the PBX is running on Linux. It is not showing up if the PBX is running on Windows. NFR license or not.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    lvhotel likes this.
  3. lvhotel

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering about that. I spun up a free cloud one and it was there.

    I guess I'll have to look at switching to a linux version.
     
  4. jed

    jed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    37
    We fixed it.. and is still on Windows.
    We made a backup of our installation, uninstall and make a new install using our Backup.
    Reason, some modifications made to the DB that is not set during our upgrade..

    Hope this will help..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    tvdir, fmtech1 and lvhotel like this.
  5. lvhotel

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like an easier process than moving to a linux box. I'll give it a try
     
  6. 3ctech

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can confirm a backup and reinstall corrects the hotel module not showing up on windows.
     
  7. jed

    jed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    37
    You might have to change the Windows / 3CX Service 3CXHotelModule01 from Disabled to Automatic startup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    79
    Only for windows install you must do the reinstall via a backup and restore as additional services need to be installed. In Linux this does not apply as the hole package is replaced each time an update is performed.

    To add, the same applies for the music play list service. Windows needs the reinstall...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. jem1

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    30
    So why was this not highlighted anywhere that both require a re-install on Windows and is there any other features in 15.5 that require the reinstall? I was going to simply do a normal update for a customer soon for the playlist feature and would have been fairly upset if I had to spend hours figuring out why it was not there.
     
  10. Tony Cave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    We are running our NFR licence upgraded to 15.5.5 on Debian on AWS and no hotel features are showing since the upgrade either....
     
  11. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    79
    I am with you on this. The relevant departments have been informed to put this out there in an easy to find manner...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. jem1

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    30
    Stefan, thank you! I had asked about upgrade options during the live launch and it was stated that 15.5 was the first major version that could be upgraded via the console but they didn't mention the Hotel or Playlist not working! :) Glad I check the forums regularly and do small rollouts before doing most of our customers that will let us update them.
     
  13. fmtech1

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brilliant! Saved me quite the troubleshooting headache :)
    Hopefully they will remove the need for a reinstall in the next SP.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.