2-Locations, 1-3CX Server, Is this possible?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by westek-consulting, Nov 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. westek-consulting

I am relatively new to VOIP and I have a new client that has a 3CX phone system. He is opening a new office roughly 45 miles away from his current office and is inquring if he can run his current 3CX server for both locations.

I have searched quite intensively and haven't found an answer.

Can someone point in the right direction please?

Or just inform me that it is or isn't possible.

Thank You,

Kyle West
    Westek Consulting

2. jelliott52

Yes it is possible . But I wouldn't recommend it. I would put a small 3CS system in the new location and bridge the systems.

I can go into more detail if you need that type of info.

Jay Elliott

3. westek-consulting

Thanks for the prompt response Jay.

If you could go more into detail, that would be excellent.

From my understanding, his new office will only have 4-5 phones, if that matters.

And can you elaborate more on "small 3CX" system?

Thank You,

Kyle

4. jelliott52

Hi Kyle,
    To have his office run one 1 3CX I would recommend a pretty robust internet connection and VPN solution. We use Clark Connect with openVPN. The down side. If his internet connect goes out he can't make any calls at all.

Recommended Solutuon
    Put a small 3CX system (4 call's ) at his "other" site. The hardware requirements are minimal for 3CX. Heck, my home system is VIA minibox, running XP and 512 of ram. You can pick up a new computer system for $300 dollars, add a grandstream gateway for telephone lines, add 4-5 sip phones and then bridge the 2 systems together so that they can make inter office calls. There's your solution.

Jay

5. MickeM

I'm running one 3cx server for a total of five offices. No specific problems because of that...

/Michael

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...