2012 R2 Preview - IE11

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ian.watts, Jun 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ian.watts

    ian.watts Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed, the preview has IE11.. which just installing v12 and launching IE to open the admin console then complained that my browser is not supported.

    Is it too much to ask the dev team to check for a version or higher web browser is being used?...
     
  2. Chris Tabone

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried using compatibility view in the Internet Explorer?

    Also what about other browsers such as Chrome and Firefox?
     
  3. ian.watts

    ian.watts Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not that I couldn't get it to work.. it's that I shouldn't have to. ;)
     
  4. cobaltit

    cobaltit Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    112
    IE10 doesn't work, which is actually released. Why would you expect IE11 to work? :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ian.watts

    ian.watts Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    True, true.. one could wish.

    3CX isn't my only problem child with IE11.. seems that way too many web devs fail to check for the "at least version x" factor.. with foreknowledge that browser versions will keep incrementing. Go figure.

    Half of my SAAS tools broke. The Compatibility feature is hidden in F12.. and does not persist if you close it.

    Chrome for the win.. figures.
     
  6. alexmallia

    alexmallia New Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    This is most likely due to security features implemented within the new version of IE. Having said that this is external to 3CX and should be adjusted from the browser directly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. ian.watts

    ian.watts Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not a security issue. I will give a mulligan for them on this one, though. ;)
    Specifically, it is not able to figure out what to do with the user agent string from IE11..

    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; WOW64; Trident/7.0; rv:11.0) like Gecko

    Yeah, they're making a shift there..

    v10: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 10.0; Windows NT 6.2; Trident/6.0)
    v9: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 9.0; Windows NT 6.1; Trident/5.0)
    v8: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; Trident/4.0)
    v7: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.0)
    v6: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)

    Chrome: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.2; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/27.0.1453.116 Safari/537.36
     
  8. kevin

    kevin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    @ian.watts

    I resolved this problem a LONG time ago. I decided to restrict my time and effort to browsers that adhere to SOME standards ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.