3CX and Asterisk

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by voipstarter, Mar 30, 2007.

1. voipstarter

Hi:

I am new to VOIP and doing some research at the moment. I cam across three open Source products (Asterisk, OpenSer and 3CX). My understanding is Asterisk is PBX server and OpenSer is SIP server. My questions are

does 3CX compare to Asterisk or OpenSer?

If 3CX similar to OpenSer, can it be integrated with Asterisk.
    How good 3CX compared to linux bases systems? Is it scalable?

Your help is very much appreciated.

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Not sure if you can compare them, what they have in common is that they handle VOIP, do a bit of call routing, allow for IVR and voice mail but that is where it sort of stops.

Asterisk
    Has been arround for a while.
    Runs on unix and linux. There is a windows version but I never used it.
    Needs some scripting knowledge but help is available.
    Supports at this stage more bells and whisles, although nice, they will introduce a complexity that most users do not need or want.

OpenSer
    SER/OpenSER configuration is a black art and not for the faint of heart :)
    That pretty much sums it up, unless you want to become your own VSP, i would do a runner. It runs on unix/Linux not sure if there are any windows version around.

3CX
    Oh where do I start :) (Hey it is a 3cx forum after all).
    Better pictures :) It has a nice graphical interface that if you install this in a company environment the receptionist can do the basic configurations and see which extensions are busy without to much training.
    Works out of the box, well after download that is but you get my drift.
    Simple setup, no scripting (although there is some freedom to do so as we noticed as time passed by).
    The free version suits most users just fine.
    Does not support as many features as Asterisk (does it really need to?)
    Runs on Windows, so no unix/linux skills required.