3CX backup issue

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jrjohnson, Aug 10, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrjohnson

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Below is an error message I've gotten every night this week trying to back up. I didn't see any backup posts about this one specifically.

    I can backup manually with no issue. File sizes look to be accurate. It's only the automatic ones that are failing.

    "3CX Phone System tried to backup but failed due to the following reason(s):

    System.Net.FtpClient.FtpCommandException: Internal error renaming the file

    at System.Net.FtpClient.FtpClient.Rename(String path, String dest)

    at _3cxBackupRestoreImpl.Filesystem.FTP.FtpFilesystem.Move(String filename1, String filename2)

    at BackupRestoreSchedule.BackupJob.Execute(IJobExecutionContext context)"
     
  2. Schrodz

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    9
    Have you allowed 3CX to write to that folder?
    Any Network changes?
    We have written a script so it changes the name of the file, copies it elsewhere and then deletes. That fixed the issue we were having with the back up. If you want our script, let me know :)
     
  3. jrjohnson

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    No changes that I'm aware of. And I should know. Even so, the manual backups I did had no issue. Even made one with the same name to test overwriting; still no issue. I would think that with manual backups not having issues accessing and writing to the directory, then neither should the automatic process.
     
  4. jrjohnson

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    This issue never truly went away. It stopped being so frequent, but recently happens at least two to three times a week now. Is nobody else having this issue or anyone have a resolution to this?
     
  5. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    283
    Hello @jrjohnson

    What FTP server are you using and what PBX version are you running?
     
  6. jrjohnson

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Running 15.5.5 and we're using FileZilla server.

    Also, same error occurred over night again.
     
  7. microage

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    same here, just started on one of my customers with no known change. Filezilla server as well. I can see it creates the .tmp file and then seems to be having an issue on the rename
     
  8. bell

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im having the exact same problem, on more then one site. Also Filezilla, no updates etc, just started happening. Latest 3CX
     
  9. Brian Cross

    Brian Cross New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    27
    No issues for me using Windows Server 2012R2 FTP. I would finger point to something to do with FileZilla
     
  10. 3CXDude

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    24
    Having similar issue. I've noticed that if I remove the Call logs, Chats and Conference data option everything is good again. Haven't had a chance to figure out why or open a ticket yet.
     
  11. bell

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried unticking the "Call logs, Chats and Conference" but same problem.
     
  12. 12494

    12494 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    22
    We ran into this same error. Upon checking with 3CX and piecing together a little about stuff I don't know that much about
    I believe 3CX uploads the file using a temporary name and after the upload is complete it issues some sort of a Rename command. This probably is to keep from wiping out the previous upload before the new upload is known to complete satisfactorily.
    Some hosts do not support the rename command.
    I don't know if your host changed their level of support of this feature or maybe you updated your 3CX version/SP?
    Hope this helps.
    Allen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. 3CXDude

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    24
    I'll open a ticket with support when things ease off and try get to the bottom of it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.