Solved 3CX Client can't communicate with API

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by eQDoBBs, Sep 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eQDoBBs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    In our office everybody is using the 3CX client for Windows. We are also using 3CX Server v15.5

    On Friday last week a user complained that their 3CX Client is working but the API is not connecting.

    It is only this user who is having this issue and nothing I've done seems to solve the issue.

    I have tried rebooting (user pc and 3cx server)
    I have checked firewall (it is off on both)
    I have uninstalled the 3CX client and reinstalled (after reinstalling the account was still configured in the client)
    I have re-provisioned the client

    I honestly am not sure what could be wrong or why just this user is having this issue

    Can anybody recommend something further to try regarding this?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. IoannisM_3CX

    IoannisM_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hello @eQDoBBs

    Have you tried sending a welcome email again? Under Phones tab, select the client where the issue occurs and press the "Send welcome email" button,then open the configuration file with the application in problem.
    Is this phone been used locally(same network with your PBX)? Is your PBX at a remote location(e.g. cloud)? All the other working clients are on remote locations?

    Take a look at this guide for further assistance


    Thank you, i'll be waiting for your feedback
     
    #2 IoannisM_3CX, Sep 25, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2017
  3. eQDoBBs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi @loannisM_3CX

    I have tried sending the welcome email again and re-configging the client.

    Phone is being used on the internal network, PBX is local in the server room and all other working clients are in the same office.
     
  4. IoannisM_3CX

    IoannisM_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hi, take look at this guide. Is there any antivirus, VPN/Proxy or any other program that might blocking the communication?

    Thank you
     
  5. eQDoBBs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have double checked the Internet Explorer settings but we do not run a proxy. We have anti-virus but exclusions are in place and disabling the AV doesn't help.
     
  6. IoannisM_3CX

    IoannisM_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hi, if you would like, please do send me the configuration file in a private message in order to replicate the scenario. In the meantime you could open the configuration file with a text editor and check that everything is in place(IP, FQDN etc).
     
  7. eQDoBBs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I fixed the issue.

    In add/remove programs there was an old legacy 3cx phone application which after removing sorted the problem out.

    Thanks for the help
     
    IoannisM_3CX likes this.
  8. IoannisM_3CX

    IoannisM_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Glad that the issue was sorted out :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.