3CX configuration for iiNet

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Coastie, Aug 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Coastie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed version 7 od 3CX on a Windows XP machine and tried to configure it to connect to an iiNet voip service. 3CX appears to register with the iinet SIP server OK but when I try to make calls I get a iiNet response 403 Forbidden. Has anybody else succeeded in getting a 3CX system to work with iiNet and would you have any pointers for success?
     
  2. tpinnovations

    tpinnovations Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    * VoIP SIP domain: iinetphone.iinet.net.au
    * SIP server: sip.state.iinet.net.au (where state is your location, e.g. NSW)
    * Username: Your VoIP phone number (remove formatting such as spaces and brackets)
    * Password: Your VoIP password
    * Reregistration time interval: 300 seconds
    * Codec preference:: G.729, then G.711 (u-Law and/or a-Law)
    * DNS: : Use SRV records
    * Phone number: Your VoIP number
    * Display name: iinetphone
    * SIP domain: iinetphone.iinet.net.au
    * SIP server: sip.state.iinet.net.au (where state is your location, e.g. VIC)
    * Proxy IP: sip.state.iinet.net.au (where state is your location, e.g. WA)
    * Registrar IP: sip.state.iinet.net.au (where state is your location, e.g. QLD)

    * ACT: sip.act.iinet.net.au
    * NSW: sip.nsw.iinet.net.au
    * NT: sip.nt.iinet.net.au
    * QLD: sip.qld.iinet.net.au
    * SA: sip.sa.iinet.net.au
    * TAS: sip.tas.iinet.net.au
    * VIC: sip.vic.iinet.net.au
    * WA: sip.wa.iinet.net.au


    I assume you have properly configured your firewall..

    Have you setup an outgoing proxy or a dial plan?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. thenua

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Coastie,

    Yep, agree 100% with tpinnovations post.

    It worked simply first time for me.

    The only tricky things might be :
    Username for iiNet is your DID number including the area code. i.e. for me in Melbourne it commences with 03.
    Password is your voip password allocated to you by iiNet in the introductory email. It is not your iiNet Toolbox password which you likely generated yourself at initial logon.

    Otherwise, all is pretty straight forward.

    Hope this helps.
    thenua
     
  4. 3vil3d

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Folks,

    Can you tell me - are you setting up your connection to iiNet as a 'Generic SIP Provider' or 'Generic VoIP Provider'?

    Cheers
    Ed
     
  5. 3vil3d

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow - it just worked - how about that - I'm staggered. I had been using iiNet BOB - turned that off on the BOB router - and configured a new 'Generic VoIP Provider' and entered about 4 things and that was it - so after fighting various VSP's all day - I'm in shock.

    For the record - I changed nothing on the Advanced/Outbound/Inbound/Source or DID pages
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.