3cx Ent v7, SmartNode 4960, BT Service Povider

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ahkal, Jan 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ahkal

Hi All,

Please can somebody provide some guidance.I am new to VOIP and telephony and would greatly appreciate some assistance.

I am setting up a VOIP system for the company where I work, we have just purchased 3cx Enterprise version 7 as our software PBX

We have also purchased a Patton Smartnode 4960 4port E1/T1, the software version being:

Software Version : R4.2 2008-01-17 H323 RBS SIP

We have also bought some Grandstream handsets - GXP1200 and GXP2010, and one Aastra 57i CT.

I have installed 3CX on a PC/Server, configured some SIP extensions and configured a couple of handsets. So far so good - I can call each ext and 3CX seems to be working OK.

As per instructions from the 3cx website I followed the guide on how to configure a VOIP gateway. I added a PTSN Gateway using the wizard/links within 3cx to generate a config file for the Patton Smartnode.

I have uploaded the config file onto the SmartNode.

Now this is the bit that I don't understand - connecting it all up to the real world.

I have written to BT (UK) to give me the details of the ISDN30e circuit we have. They have replied to my mail and given me the following info. - (I ripped out the real telephone)

IMBTXXXXXX
    8 channels of Isdn30e.
    main number 01675XXXXXXX
    DDI range 01675XXX900-919 (20 DDI).
    6 digits presented to switch.
    CLIP applied.
    Sequential hunting

Please can somebody explain how I glue everything together. I can hookup the Smartnode to the BT circuit and patch it into the LAN where the 3cx server resides, but how do I configure 3cx to route calls to the outside and how does the 3cx route/accept incoming calls from the Patton - Has the 3cx generated config file for the Smartnode done all this for me?