3CX Fax Server and SPA 3102

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by garyjduk, Nov 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. garyjduk

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I send and receive faxes through a SPA3102 to a normal phone line and route it to the 3CX Fax Server? This phone line will be only used for fax and no voice calls. I want to get rid of my old fax machine and be able to get and send them via my computer.

    I don’t send or receive that many faxes to justify spending a lot of money on it, but just need the functionality if I need it.

    Want to be sure before I spend hours trying to configure it.

    Thanks
     
  2. lb9ve

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not tested the exactly setup myself, but have use the SPA 3102 with 3cx. If you use this configuration: http: //www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/linksys-3102/ - NO LONGER AVAILABLE, the setup should be faily simple.
     
  3. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    150
    Try with this guide

    http:/ /www.3cx.com/sip-phones/linksys-spa-3102-fax/ No longer available. New link: http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/

    This is especially configured for fax because there are some jitter buffer adjustments and silence suppression settings that need to be taken into consideration when you deal with configuration of a fax device (to be used solely for fax purposes)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. garyjduk

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks - I'll post back with the result and if I have any problems.
     
  5. bsabat

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have the exact same need, so please tell me if it is working with this documentation.

    Br
    Bertrand
     
  6. JanW

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have used this guide a few days ago.
    It worked fine for me!

    Regards,

    jan
     
  7. garyjduk

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just spent 5 hours trying to get this setup.

    Can I just check that this correct as the guide doesn’t exactly say how to send the fax to the fax server in 3CX. This is from a normal telephone line and not through a VOIP provider.

    I have setup a PSTN device and given it Port number 10002 and set it to Send fax to email of extension 88 Default FAX destination.

    Do I also need an inbound rule for Port 10002 as well?

    In the guide it talks about adding an extension? Is this needed in this scenario?

    I can get my SPA3102 to register with Port 10002 and it shows Ringing in the info page of the SPA3102 but it doesn’t seem to get through to the virtual port of 3CX.

    I’m going to factory reset the SPA3102 and try again but just wanted to check this.

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.