3cx FQDN

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by contraserv, Aug 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. contraserv

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since the release of v15, there is a 3cx FQDN for non static IP addresses. Are there any issues with this service? As of today it is not updating to the current public IP?
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    183
    They say this is a supported scenario... but I have never had a ton of luck with Dynamic IP's on VoIP service.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,443
    Likes Received:
    282
    Hello there,

    This is supported but we do not recommend it for production systems. The way to go is with static IP as always.
    Please note that with a dynamic IP setup there will be down time as the DNS update process takes some time and we do not control all the DNS servers as you can understand.

    And we can only do this if during the installation you selected a 3CX FQDN and DNS managed by 3CX.
     
  4. Sopock

    Sopock Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    20
    DnsQueryEx: 3cx FQDN

    Hi!
    Maybe it should be recommended to use Google ones? Or even option in SBC to select which to use?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,255
    Likes Received:
    63
    Using the Google DNS servers would most likely reduce the downtime as you would not have to wait for the DNS propagation process, however there would still be some downtime until the 3CX Server updates the DNS entry.
     
  6. Sopock

    Sopock Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    20
    3cxWin10phone custom DNS

    Even better if there could be prov. parameter which would indicate that 3CXphone should use your server like ns1.3cx.com(bypass systems one)?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mobycom

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, what TTL do you use if we have dynamic? It looks like its 6 hours?
     
  8. andreaschr

    andreaschr Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi mobycom

    Correct is 6 hours for 3CXPBX , standard , pro License and
    5min for Enterprise License.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.