3CX, Grandstream 4104 & The UK.

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Overwatch, Jan 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Overwatch

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello chaps!

    I have a query that I would like to kindly request some help on. I have searched the forum both using the search tool available and via google for help on this matter but I sadly can't seem to find a great deal. Hence as a last resort and as a 3CX Novice turning here.
    I am currently setting up (Free) 3CX Phone System as our company's PBX Server. I have 3CX installed on a machine and can make calls internally with no problems at all with all the bells and whistles attached.

    Due to our internet speeds being less than stellar, we've decided to use our existing 4 lines to the PSTN/POTS.
    I've purchased a GrandStream GXW-4104 to bridge the gap between the PSTN and our Network. I have followed the 3CX guide on setting up the GrandStream GXW-4104 to the letter, changing the "Call Progress Tones" to the UK standard and the AC Termination Impedance to the UK standard of "370 Ohm + (620 Ohm || 310nF)".
    But alas I just cannot get it to work.

    Calls from the PSTN Trunk in 3CX are to be forward to 1 phone (As a test) but the Grandstream doesn't seem to be picking up any calls or passing them on to 3CX.
    Same with ringing out, it seems that the calls are stopping at the Grandstream.

    Understandably this is all seeming to point to the Grandstream, but with this being used with 3CX Phone System I could use any help that is offered. It may be something glaringly obvious that I've missed.. Hopefully.

    3CX Event Log when Dialing out:
    (Edited the actual number on the text file to 01234567890 rather than posting company phone address on the 'net)
    I have enabled 4 lines on the Grandstream, but only 1 is plugged in at the moment. It is identified as line 10000 on both the Grandstream and 3CX.
    "9" Is the number to dial an external line as setup by the Dialing Rule.

    10:32:55.521 [CM503020]: Normal call termination. Reason: Server Failure
    10:32:55.521 [CM503016]: Call(3): Attempt to reach <sip:901234567890@192.168.0.96:5060;user=phone> failed. Reason: Server Failure
    10:32:55.520 [CM503003]: Call(3): Call to sip:01234567890@192.168.0.77:5060 has failed; Cause: 503 Service Unavailable; from IP:192.168.0.77:5060
    10:32:55.422 [CM503025]: Call(3): Calling PSTNline:01234567890@(Ln.10000@GrandStream_GXW4101)@[Dev:sip:10003@192.168.0.77:5066;transport=udp]
    10:32:55.415 [CM503003]: Call(3): Call to sip:01234567890@192.168.0.77:5060 has failed; Cause: 503 Service Unavailable; from IP:192.168.0.77:5060
    10:32:55.318 [CM503025]: Call(3): Calling PSTNline:01234567890@(Ln.10000@GrandStream_GXW4101)@[Dev:sip:10002@192.168.0.77:5064;transport=udp]
    10:32:55.311 [CM503003]: Call(3): Call to sip:01234567890@192.168.0.77:5060 has failed; Cause: 503 Service Unavailable; from IP:192.168.0.77:5060
    10:32:55.213 [CM503025]: Call(3): Calling PSTNline:01234567890@(Ln.10000@GrandStream_GXW4101)@[Dev:sip:10001@192.168.0.77:5062;transport=udp]
    10:32:55.206 [CM503003]: Call(3): Call to sip:01234567890@192.168.0.77:5060 has failed; Cause: 503 Service Unavailable; from IP:192.168.0.77:5060
    10:32:55.158 [CM503025]: Call(3): Calling PSTNline:01234567890@(Ln.10000@GrandStream_GXW4101)@[Dev:sip:10000@192.168.0.77:5060;transport=udp]
    10:32:55.114 [CM503004]: Call(3): Route 1: PSTNline:01234567890@(Ln.10000@GrandStream_GXW4101)@[Dev:sip:10000@192.168.0.77:5060;transport=udp,Dev:sip:10001@192.168.0.77:5062;transport=udp,Dev:sip:10002@192.168.0.77:5064;transport=udp,Dev:sip:10003@192.168.0.77:5066;transport=udp]
    10:32:55.113 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:901234567890@192.168.0.96:5060;user=phone>
    10:32:55.111 [CM505001]: Ext.238: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Snom;Mod: 3xx series;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [snom300/7.3.30] PBX contact: [sip:238@192.168.0.96:5060]
    10:32:55.110 [CM503001]: Call(3): Incoming call from Ext.238 to <sip:901234567890@192.168.0.96:5060;user=phone>

    If anybody has the Grandstream UK configuration that would be greatly appreciated, just to double-check mine against.
    Thank you in advance to anybody who may be able to shed some light on this.
     
  2. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    I use some in the US, so may not be able to help much, but the first question is:

    In looking at the grandstream front panel indicators, when a call is ringing in from the PSTN, does one of the front panel lights illuminate thereby indicating that the GXW is indeed seeing the inbound call? When looking at the 3CX Windows Management Conole and then the "Ports/Trunk Status" tab, does it show the trunk that you created to be registered?
     
  3. Overwatch

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the response Ineblett!

    All 4 trunks are Registered(Idle) in the 3CX Trunk Management,

    When a call is made none of the FXO leds turn on, on the GXW-4104.
    The line is connected to port FXO1 on the Grandstream so I'd assume that when a call is made the light on Port 1 would illuminate.. This is not the outcome sadly.
     
  4. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ok, so the GXW is registered to 3CX, but my other question is related to an outside call coming in to the GXW; not an inside call being routed out to the GXW. You may have answered it, but I got the impression that you were trying to make a call from inside of 3CX to the outside world. I am trying to isolate the GXW and see if the GXW reconginzes that a PSTN line is even connected without worrying yet about outbound rules and programming within 3CX. Also, do you have PR enabled (polarity reversal enabled)?
     
  5. Overwatch

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if I wasn't clear on that mate.

    Yes, the GXW is registered in 3CX. I can't seem to make a call in either direction.

    If I call the line I get a the standard ring tone but no lights on the GXW light up. The "Status" page of the GXW shows that all PSTN Lines are "Not Connected". Even while I ring the line and refresh the page it stays the same.

    I have tried Polarity Reversal both enabled and disabled, just in case.

    Thank you once again for your help so far!
     
  6. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Leave the polarity reversal disabled. Disconnect all the PSTN lines from the GXW and then pick one line that you are certain of the number and connect it to a standard analog telephone handset. Dial the number and see if the handset will ring and that you can answer the call. Once that is done, then I would reset the GXW back to its factory setting and then begin anew with the programming per the provisioning guide, but this time using only the same single line which you used successfully with the handset. The other lines can be added once later. When provisioned, then try again dialing the same number and seeing if the front panel LED will come on thereby indicating that it does indeed recognize the presence of the PSTN line. We have to get the GXW to recognize a line before any call into or of 3CX will be successful. Do not worry about how 3CX is configured just yet. We simply have to get the device to see the lines first. I assume that you are running firmware 1.3.4.9 as this is the latest (from Dec 2009).
     
  7. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Keep looking at the status page and refresh, we need to see when it shows connected, idle. I stated wrong firmware earlier, I meant 1.3.4.10. I currently have a unit that has never been used. I simply powered up, found the IP, connected to the web interfavce and connected a line from a HT502 ATA and with no other info, mine shows connected, idle.
     
  8. Overwatch

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello!

    Right, I've reset the 4104 to factory.
    Current setup is as follows:

    PSTN Phone Line ---> GXW-4104 ---> Netgear Switch <--- Laptop

    I've got rid of the 3CX server connection temporarily, so running only the bare minimum. I've gone through all the FXO settings and tried 3 possible AC Termination Impedence settings. All with no luck, I'm calling the line from a mobile so everything is completely isolated. The 4104 won't "see" the PSTN line at all. All it states is "Not Connected" with no lights flashing.

    I'm going to take it home with me at the end of the work day and try it there, failing that the only thing I can think of is a dodgy box. Just to confirm, I am currently running it on the latest firmware, 1.3.4.10.

    Cheers for this, your help is really appreciated!
     
  9. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    298
    Are you positive that Tip & Ring, of each line is connected to the correct pins in the RJ11 sockets?
    Is there a status page that show the current voltage on the line confirming a connection?
     
  10. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    In conjunction with Leejor, did you simply connect and analog handset to the line to see if it can function with what apparently the GXW cannot? Like I indicated earlier, mine was right out the box and only a ATA hooked up. My guess is that impedence won't impact the unit's ability of being able to detect a line. I will be surpised to learn that the unit is defective out of the box. I actually took a unit and, by mistake, plugged in a 48V PoE adapter into the GXW 12V input. Caps blew, smoke billowed and I was more than a little mad at myself. I simply grabbed the wrong power supply wire. In any event, I went ro the local electrical supply, bought some replacement electrolytic caps, put them in and the unit has performed flawlessly ever since.
     
  11. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Overwatch -

    Did you ever get this resolved? If so, what was the problem?
     
  12. Overwatch

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello!

    Sorry for the lack of a reply over the last few days. Took it home and played about with it, no luck... Brought it back to work read Leejor's post about the Tip and Ring, slapped my forehead then went on a cable hunt again just to make sure. 12 cables later - No luck... Until that is, I stole the cable from the ancient fax machine in the corner.
    Guess what?

    "Hey Presto!.. We have light!"
    Bugger...

    So, it seems that -every- cable we have wasn't the right one except for an ancient, "once white-now cream" coloured cable from the fax machine.

    Thank you to you both for helping me on this, it's greatly appreciated! You all deserve a pat on the back.
    Cheers!
     
  13. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Glad we could help and that the GXW appears to be functional. Good luck to you.
     
  14. MDScarrott

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow - this experience seems to mirror my own. We have also been experimenting with a Voip account and 3CX free but also made the decision that our slow internet speeds were causing more problems than the advantages so have taken the leap with the 4104 and also upgraded to a mini licence.

    Having just installed the 4104 I have the exact same problem with the PTSN lines not seeming to be recognised.

    Guessing that it is the same problem as the OP faced how can i get around this? I have doon a quick search on what Tip and Ring means but i'm not sure how changing a wire can solve this issue and also , is there a more scientific approach rather than me just sampling loads of wires hoping for the best??

    The set up is: BT wall socked--->Short Cable--->Filter---->Cable--->4104

    Could the filter be causing issue?

    Any help on how to diagnose the culprit and best way to identify an alternative component that will work would be much appreciated.

    Thanks
    Matt
     
  15. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    298
    The problem, with devices using RJ11/RJ12 sockets, is that they are generally made with the North American standard in mind, Tip and Ring (the pair of wires supplying dial tone), are expected on the two centre pins. In the UK and other places these two wires may appear on other pins on the wall socket. So...if you use a straight through cable you may be presenting the tip and ring to the wrong pins on the gateway.

    Look at this site.. http://www.lanshack.com/wire_phone_jack.aspx

    the red and green (T1/R1) is always line 1 on a North American socket, which is the way most single line per socket gateways are wired. The socket can handle up to 3 lines.

    An ADSL filter would only be affecting things if it changed the order of the pins in the cable. Unplug the cable from the gateway and plug it into a stand-alone socket, not connected to anything. Use a volt meter and see what pins the phone line voltage (usually 48 vdc) shows up on, it should be the middle two, usually red and green.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.