3CX in Azure MarketPlace

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by telis, Jan 23, 2017.

3CX in Azure MarketPlace 5 5 7votes
5/5, 7 votes

  1. telis

    telis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    23
    poynter.net, align and jlinds like this.
  2. align

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    I could also use this. I'm seeing more and more clients headed to Azure for cloud infrastructure. It would be nice to be able to park a 3CX instance out there with the other VM's they use.
     
    jlinds likes this.
  3. telis

    telis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yeah, several of our customers are using Azure and nothing else now. I wonder if there are technical obstacles. I think testing has only been done with Google Cloud and OVH but anything OpenStack based is also supported (I read this somewhere but can't find a link), but Azure is not officially supported.

    I may be wrong.
     
    jlinds likes this.
  4. align

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    I also saw that in some random threads via Google. I have a couple of opportunities for 3CX where Azure support would make this quick and easy. I could put the time into trying to figure it out - but nobody really wants to deal with an unsupported configuration in the end. Hopefully 3CX can put some time into testing and supporting it. Azure has become a huge cloud player in the past few years. Most of my clients use Office 365 too - Azure is a natural place for them to want to go.
     
    jlinds likes this.
  5. V..

    V..

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    28
    +1 for this. Also maybe create an AWS marketplace package as well?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. align

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Agreed with the marketplaces ideas - but for the time being, I'd settle for a 3CX supported configuration running in Azure (running on an Azure VM - regular install).
     
  7. Phoenixphantom

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has any one managed this yet.

    I have had it working on a windows server in azure but will have to have a look at the Debian install, if it is like the other voip platforms out there its just the config of the base install of Debian that needs changing.
     
  8. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    241
    You can use Azure if you want, as long as there is a Debian 8 image available. Its just that Azure is very expensive and that Amazon and Google have all this ready but you are free to use Azure if you want.....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. telis

    telis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    23
    Azure is expensive for Iaas but less expensive PaaS. The expense is less of an issue when you are already invested, there are discounts and so on. It would be nice if you added the image to the Azure Marketplace.
     
  10. telis

    telis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    23
    Posted in to wrong thread in error!
     
  11. stefanprasch

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    For a Microsoft Partner with Action Pack you get Azure credit! And so the costs are not the Problem! @Nick Galea
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. poynter.net

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...