Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

3CX mobile Client - Roaming 4G/WIFI

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by Tifoso, Jan 23, 2018.

3CX mobile Client - Roaming 4G/WIFI 5 5 47votes
5/5, 47 votes

  1. Tifoso

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    11
    The mobile clients (iOS, adnroid) should handle the Roaming between different networks. If I change during a call the location from WIFI internal to outside (go out of the company). the mobile phone connect to 3G/4G and lose the active call. It should be possible also otherwhise (3G/4G to WIFI).

    I made some tests:
    - Wifi internal only -> Connection to 3CX and communication is possible
    - 3G/4G only -> Connection to 3CX and communication is possible
    - Roaming from Wifi to 3G/4G during a active call. -> Communication will be lost
    - Roaming from 3G/4G to Wifi during a active call. -> Communication will be lost

    I made also some tests with whatsapp call, skype, and cisco jabber. the other applications/solutions can handle the hopping/roaming.

    this behavior is common. the customers move during a call through different networks an will be still connected in a active call.
     
  2. Sopock

    Sopock Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    20
    Or even call should complete over 4G despite higher price?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Otto Lodewijk likes this.
  3. Otto Lodewijk

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Lev likes this.
  4. DHei

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. Juan Marriott

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
  6. paurus

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    14
  7. dredd0606

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    15
    I agree, at the very least, give an option in the mobile clients to force the calls to use 4G. Clients do not think about their calls dropping when they leave the office, or walk by a cafe with open wifi. Asking a client to turn off wifi is unfair. However, giving an option to force the 3cx client to only connect via 4g is not only fair, its smart. That way clients can choose between paying for their data and having their calls not drop, or being able to connect using wifi, and having calls drop anytime their network status changes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Marco Bankers, k_b and Vali_3CX like this.
  8. voiphorizon

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
  9. Brandan Hermo

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    9
    +1

    It is also necessary handoff when the 3CX client moves form 1 AP WIFI to another in the same LAN with the same SSID
     
  10. Fadi S Nori

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Totally agree, many of our customers thinks that mobile softphones are useless because of the issues named here, and we already lost one !
    Sad to see only few voted here !!
     
  11. Chrischevy80

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    +1
    Calls that drop when switching networks should not happen.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. nitrox

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    11
  13. k_b

    k_b

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1
    I think softphones on mobile phones are a great idea, but with the current implementations they are just not viable, without staying exactly where you are. Changing from wifi to 3g/4g is a fundamental feature for mobile phones that are meant to be used while moving. Perhaps add a feature to always connect via pbx so the pbx can hold calls for the network transition?
     
  14. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    305
    I tested this during a call once and walked around the inside of our building. In my WAP Controller Logs, I hit 3 different AP's and the call continued without issue. Perhaps I should test this functionality again.

    Tested and did not drop the call:
    Code:
    2018/09/19  14:51:38
    AP[HUB] radio [11a/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams from AP[R300-4]
    
    2018/09/19  14:51:38
    AP[R300-4] radio [11a/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams out to AP[HUB]
    
    2018/09/19  14:51:30
    AP[R300-4] radio [11a/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams from AP[Accounting]
    
    2018/09/19  14:51:30
    AP[Accounting] radio [11a/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams out to AP[R300-4]
    
    2018/09/19  14:51:20
    AP[Accounting] radio [11a/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams from AP[WH4]
    
    2018/09/19  14:51:20
    AP[WH4] radio [11g/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams out to AP[Accounting]
    
    2018/09/19  14:50:30
    AP[WH4] radio [11g/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams from AP[WH1]
    
    2018/09/19  14:50:30
    AP[WH1] radio [11a/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams out to AP[WH4]
    
    2018/09/19  14:49:33
    AP[WH1] radio [11a/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams from AP[TECH-ROOM]
    
    2018/09/19  14:49:33
    AP[TECH-ROOM] radio [11a/n] detects User[MYMAC] in WLAN[VWPrivate] roams out to AP[WH1]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #14 craigreilly, Sep 19, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  15. PhoneCH

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    The problem is usually not a Wifi with different APs (if well configured), but a change of the technology (Wifi<>Mobile). But I'm not sure if this is possible to get rid of it, as this is not a problem of the Client.
    If it's possible to stay on Mobile, it's fine.
    Another problem is, if you switch from mobile to Wifi, the call is lost on the Softphone, but still connected (as long as the other person is not disconnecting). So your phone is blocked.
     
    nitrox likes this.
  16. Mario Oberdorfer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does 3CX work on the solution so that a handover between WiFi and 3g works?
     
  17. nitrox

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    11
    NO it doesn't.
     
  18. Marco Bankers

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
  19. Marty Hermsen

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    We roll out the last month a new complete 3cx installation for our company and today we run into this 4G/Wifi issue.... Samsung J3 between 4G/Wifi and the connection is lost and much worse the 3CX client seems complete gone... lost calls... This issue, dispite this thread, is a showstopper for our business.

    So with no solution in short time we run back to our old systems. I already searching for my shoes..
    a Pro Licence member
     
  20. vizualpro

    vizualpro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    23