3CX on HP Media Server

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mike305, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. mike305

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to ask the question if it was possible to setup a 3cx system on a HP MediaSmart Server that runs windows home server?
    No monitor support. Requires a pc to get it started.

    Newegg:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16859105562&cm_re=media_smart-_-59-105-562-_-Product

    Im looking for a small dedicated server for my business phone system.

    Thank You
     
  2. safesax2002

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    You shouldn't have any problems once you get WHS set up. All you need to do is RDP in as Administrator and install it that way. I just setup 3CX on a system last week through RDP. It wasn't WHS but knowing how my WHS at home works I don't forsee any problems.
     
  3. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't forget that Windows Home Server is not one of the supported OS's for 3CX (but having said that it will probably work fine).

    You state...

    'for my business phone system'

    ... so will you be sorting out paid support from 3CX as well as you don't want any down time ?. I'm only presuming this but it may be that suport coudl be refused due to the OS on the hardware ?.
     
  4. mike305

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply!

    No support needed.. I have it all setup working just fine right now .. but would like a permanent server to keep on 24hours. (low power, low noise, and being able to backup my systems)
     

Share This Page