Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

3CX on Synology / QNAP NAS

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by TLA, Mar 24, 2017.

3CX on Synology / QNAP NAS 4.8 5 25votes
4.8/5, 25 votes

Tags:
  1. TLA

    TLA

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Since 3CX fully works on Linux, is there any chance that a package for Synology NAS will be develop?
     
    igor.snezhko and Samuel Fishman like this.
  2. jem1

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    31
    This would only currently work on the x86 based boxes as .NET CORE does not run on ARM yet, but .NET CORE 2.0 is slated for Raspbian for the Pi's late this year.

    Any QNAP with Linux Station can already run Debian on it, maybe try it that way?

    A docker container would be pretty cool honestly.
     
    cwkiang likes this.
  3. Arnaud PENSU

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi,
    it will be great if we can host 3CX on Synology, it's the perfect host for that in Small Business : 24/7 on, RAID, slow consumtion...
    I lost many projects because of hosting costs., if i can host 3CX on a NAS already installer on client sites, i'm sure i won theses projects.

    Everybody here, you have to VOTE for this post, if you don't Vote, 3CX won't work on that.
     
    MONTI-MA-GmbH likes this.
  4. kevindu

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a synology nas DS415+, this would work great on my nas. I hope it gets produced !
     
  5. cwkiang

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently, I installed the 3cx ISO file by using the Virtualization Station in QNAP's NAS TS-253A, it seem to work fine till now.
     
  6. Samuel Fishman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
  7. igor.snezhko

    igor.snezhko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. Arnaud PENSU

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi,
    the objective isn't to run 3CX in emulation mode, we know that it's ok.
    The objective is to have a simple package to launch 3CX in full DSM or QTS environment, more simple to deploy, administer and support, more layers, more troubles.
    Second point is that not all NAS can run virtualization, but approximately all NAS can run 3CX for TPE / PME / Home because pre-requises are very light.
    jerem1 say it's ok on .NET, have you heard about a 3CX project on Windows 10 for IOT ?
    i mean, 3CX is a light soft that can run over very small computers, so Raspberry et entry level NAS are small computers, not very expensive and made to run 7/7, with native RAID1 for NAS, that's not the case for Shutle for example.
     
  9. eits

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi everybody - any progress on this topic so far? i got that question today from a future customer :D
     
  10. Brad Allison

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    20
    3CX as Synology Package would be cool!
     
  11. JST

    JST New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would be interested in this as well. +1
     
  12. Arnaud PENSU

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    UP, some news about this possibility ?
    I ll also publish on NAS Forums in order to evaluate feedback.
     
  13. BrenttG

    BrenttG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    30
    You would not want to have 3CX running in the native environment of a NAS, you would want it virtualized. These distros are linux, but very stripped down, and often chop shopped for space savings, and packed full of other services running in the background, using up ports, etc.

    A virtualized environment, on a NAS that supports virtualization, such as a QNAP X86-64 variant would produce the best results, with the least additional complexity of having to make 3cx work with all the other software on the nas without conflicting in unexpected ways.

    There are other options as well, such as the Embedded Network Infrastructure boxes, i have debian running on a number of them just fine, and they are available with mSATA SSDs, up to Intel I5 CPUs, and up to 16-32 GB of RAM. All in a box that you can hold in one hand. Roughly 1.5in x 5in x 3.5in size.

    Just because theoretically you could finagle 3CX to run on a NAS among all the other internal processes, does not stand to reason that you should. IT inherently invites more places for potential problems with conflicts and compatibility to happen.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. BrenttG

    BrenttG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    30
    ALSO, if you were to set one up in the NAS virtualization, you would need to make sure the NAS has a stronger CPU, such as an Intel I3, I5, Xeon, etc... The Celeron NAS's have some noticable lag in virtualization, even the quad core celeron versions. Ive tested this with a QNAP TS-451 with 8GB RAM, a VM with 2 cores and 4GB was still noticably stuttering when hosting a network service. Fine for most things, but just stuttery enough, it makes me worry it would be very bad for Audio Streams.

    Something like our QNAP TVS-871 would be overkill im sure, as its lowest model has an I3, and highest an I7, but i cant test with that one because its in our production environment doing iSCSI.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Arnaud PENSU

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Actually it's not much of a debate, here we want a native 3CX Synology / Qnap solution.
    I can understand why you're not interested, but this is not the debate.
    On the other hand, I think, with some experience in this area, the more we talk about low-level layers (OSI) the less relevant virtualization is.
     
  16. BrenttG

    BrenttG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    30
    OK, so my credentials include CCNA(Expired), CISSO, CVA, Computer Forensics, Network+, Security+, Linux+, etc. Ive also been developing on Linux and BSD for about 15 years now, so thats my background. And from that background, not trying to brag here, and with the knowledge i have garnered working with, building out, and troubleshooting 3CX for 3 years straight now, there are significant complexities involved in what your asking for. More so then you probably expect. The OSI model asside and having little to do with the problem, ""network wise"", 3CX should function perfectly running from a QNAP, virtualized or not. The issue would most likely be in the software stack itself. QNAP is proprietary, non open source, with lots of open source mixed in.

    3CX Support and Engineering themselves insists that a server used for 3CX not be used for anything else, and this is because 3CX has a lot of moving parts, and it can become very hard to diagnose and troubleshoot issues, when there are a lot more systems running in the background, and using various sockets all over the place. 3CX uses a number of socket connections on localhost for its various services to talk to each other, and these also, would have issues if any of those sockets were conflicted as well. But even if there were no socket/network conflicts period, all the other software on the qnap could "potentially" cause a troubleshooting nightmare if not at least unpredictable function.

    Is saving a couple hundred bucks, worth hours of troubleshooting down the road? If it is by all means continue down this path, more power too you. But having worked these kind of situations before coming into situations where internal teams did something that was a bad idea to save money or time, i can attest, it is better to do it the simpler, supported, right way the first time...

    Now if your also wanting it to run on the ARM based QNAP and Synology devices, might as well throw even more complexity in because that would most likely require them to completely re-compile 3CX as those CPUs do not run the same architecture, and there are yet more differences in the stack they would have to run, not to mention the processing power deficit those ARM based NAS Devices also suffer from.

    Perhaps someone from 3CX Staff would like to chime in?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Arnaud PENSU

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    You're right, we're not here for a certification competition, but obviously it still feels good to show them off.
    However, you keep forgetting that we are talking about very small businesses that only need one or two lines, and the aim is to provide an alternative to the offers of ISPs that offer a voice line with the Internet line without any service.
    for these clients, a $500 NAS is already a significant investment.
    Once again, you have the right to disagree, but this is not the debate, you just have to forget this post and wait to get back our customers that we will not be able to troubleshoot.
     
  18. dandenson

    dandenson New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    +1 for this (Native Synology).

    I deploy a lot of these units and the x86 based ones are powerful enough to handle simple PBX duties. In fact, I've run freepbx on the atom based synologies for a couple years flawlessly.

    Not to derail, but it's jump on a 3CX on raspberry pi 3 first though. Again, this hardware can run asterisk easily and if .net core makes it to the pi then this would be a nice little platform for a small system.
     
  19. nurv

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I can install this on a TSV-871 using the virtualization station. I have downloaded the lso file but when I select it it does not do anything and I have to cancel the installation.

    Any help on this would be much apreciated.