• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

3CX overwrites desk phone settings

Status
Not open for further replies.

gtinet

Customer
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to 3CX IP PBX. I have downloaded the free version and I am evaluating it with 3 SNOM 720 phones and the 3CX Windows soft client. Any changes I make on the client or phone get overwritten whenever the phone reboots or re-registers. This also happens when I program the phone via the Phone UI on the 3CX management GUI. About the only settings that will remain constant are the ones you can edit on the Extensions tab of the 3CX management GUI. Is this normal behavior?

PBX Version: 15.0.0
SNOM 720 Version: 8.9.3.38
Windows Client: 15.0.56008.0

Thank you in advance for any insight you may have.

Kevin

In the PBX there were (previous versions) time zone settings for each make/model phone (as a group). Did you change those from the default?

Thanks for your response leejor.

Within the Extension - Phone Provisioning tab of the 3CX management GUI I have the ability to set the timezone, so I'm good there. Other settings, like caller-id display style, tone scheme, U.S. date format, 24 hour clock, ringtones, function button definitions, etc... I can change on the phone or via the 3CX GUI and they get changed back to default when the phone reboots.

I can view the config file for each phone on the Phones tab of the management GUI, and I see where the variables are listed; time_24_format, user_ringer, date_us_format, etc... but I cannot edit anything. I wouldn't think I should have to edit the config files manually. That seems like it would be too easy to wedge up the system.