3CX PBX Redundancy

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by hivanov, Sep 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hivanov

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all !

    One of our clients asked on Friday if there is a way develop a solution with two PBXs working in something like "fault tolerance" mode - means the two systems work simultaneous in active and passive state, and when the active PBX fails the passive to become active and continue working. It's about two 256-sim. calls systems running over Windows Server 2008R2.

    So, the question is if there is a feature in our PBX to do so or it should be done at lower lever in the OS itself ?

    Thanks and best regards,
    Hristo
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. bardissi

    bardissi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Option 1
    You could do this with virtualization.....

    OR

    Option 2
    You could run a script to pull the backup from PBX A and Import to PBX on a schedule (maybe 1 a day???)
    And then setup the phones to use a DNS SRV record instead of a IP address.
    If the phones cant register to PBX A the SRV Record will point the phones to PBX B.

    OR

    Option 3
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/3cx-high-availability-system-active-active/
     
  3. hivanov

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks !

    I found this article is pretty good with step-by-step guide how to configure the whole system. Do you know if there are another supported IP phones which support the "high availability" feature different from SNOM and YEALINK :?:

    Best regards,
    Hristo
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. bardissi

    bardissi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure most phones will work with that method.

    You would have to test it no matter what equipment your using
     
  5. hivanov

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mean not every phone has a field for secondary SIP server address, for example Grandstream phones in our office doesn't :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. bardissi

    bardissi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    In that case use sip srv record
     
  7. hivanov

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm just starting building test environment with grandstream and cisco ata phones with two v12 PBX installations on Win Server 2012. I'll post later this week to report the results 8|

    P.S. If you have some kind of template or sample of the exact SRV records needed, I'll appreciate if you could share it... this will save a lot of my time... ;)


    Thanks !!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.