3CX phone loses config after logoff or reboot on 5 of our 67 computers

Discussion in 'Windows' started by dkuhlman, Dec 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkuhlman

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm curious if anyone else has seen this. All of the workstations are Windows 7 Pro. The 3CX Windows Phone is losing it's config after logoff or reboot on 5 of the 67 computers. I've tried a different user profile (me) on a couple issues and it seems to happen on those same computers regardless of which using logs in. If I reprovision from the config file it works fine... Until the next reboot. All the computers are at the same patch level. The c:\program data\3cx phone for windows directory is exempted for the AV software (Vipre). Any one have any suggestions?
     
  2. nikosT_3cx

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    please open the welcome email with the 3cx client, exit the 3cx client, start it again and then exit again.
    Then reboot the computer and open the 3cx client again.
    The configuration is not in the 3cx client ?
    Please advice.
     
  3. 3CXusername

    3CXusername New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    16
    dkuhlman,

    I posted something similar but only happens everyone once in awhile (once a month) running v12 with Windows 7 hosts. I have no clue what is going on here either but have just been living with it. Let me know if you discover anything

    thanks

    my original post:
    http://www.3cx.com/forums/post174794.html?hilit=configuration%20file#p174794
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are having this same issue. Some clients just lose their configuration on logout/reboot. Double-clicking on config file restores it, but it keeps happening over and over. It's happening on both Win7 and Win10 clients.
     
  5. AlexDBarrett

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes we have seen this appear on Win 10 systems.

    As a short term fix we have placed the config file in Start Up so it runs every time a system is rebooted.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    61
    In the V14 3CX Phone client for Windows, after you load the Provisioning File for the first time, the first time only you have to go to the menu and press 'Exit Client' option so that the account is saved.

    Try that and share if that is the case.
     
  7. jholcombe

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    We have been experiencing the same issue as well. Some clients retain the configuration. Some do not. I don't recall if logging off of 3CXphone resolves the issue. I'll try it and let you know. Thank you!
     
  8. max999

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    same issue - on Windows 10 Ent.
     
  9. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    61
    OK, so there are 2 reasons I can possibly think why this could be happening:

    1) The Account information for the 3CX Phone app are stored in C:\Users\<Windows Login>\AppData\Roaming\3CXPhone for Windows on the PC running the 3CX Phone. Sometimes when loading a Windows Profile from Active Directory, this folder is not saved and is always reset. If this happens, then each time the user logs in the account will be gone.

    2) I mentioned this before, but I'll say it again as I have seen it many times, after you load the provisioning file into the 3CX Phone app, after doing and for the first time only you will have to exit the application from the menu option and shown below:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exiting the program after applying the configuration file has fixed the issue on all problem systems. It still seems strange that not all systems were affected.
     
  11. mark1051

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also having this problem.
    The fix here seems to solve the problem but I am having problem with the google contacts being lost on log off or reboot.
     
  12. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    61
    Did you try doing the fix after signing into Google and syncing the contacts?
     
  13. jholcombe

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just an update - the workaround suggested by Nick resolved the issue. We must log off of 3CXPhone the first time the provisioning file is loaded for it to keep the config.

    Thank you!,

    --John
     
  14. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    61
    Just thought I should update this topic, manually exiting the 3CXPhone app after provisioning it for the first time will not be necessary after one of the upcoming updates.
     
  15. npereira

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im having the same problem, can someone tell me what update fixes this issue? What version of the 3CX phone system or the 3CX Windows Phone app itself?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    61
    In V14 SP3 you shouldn't have this problem, if you do it is probably something else, like e.g. the confif file of the 3CXPhone being deleted or purged from some reason which is located in %appdata%\3CXPhone for Windows\ on the PCs running the 3CXPhone app.
     
  17. tlachaus

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to say we ran into this also. Using the exit application workaround solves the problem. We've also seen that the position of the 3cx phone application's screen coordinates stick when you exit... we've had a few problems with employees who have external monitors who take their laptop with them and the 3cx app is off in la la land thinking there is still the external monitor attached. (This was on windows 8, surface pro 3).
    Moving the 3cx app to the main monitor, then exiting the program, seems to solve that problem.
     
  18. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    61
    I've ran into this too a few times, but found a nice easy way to get it back, while the app is open and maximized and shows up on the taskbar, while holding down the Shift key right-click on the 3CXPhone and then select "Move", then just use one of the arrow keys and the 3CXPhone windows should snap right where the cursor is... :)
     
  19. AlexanderHanna

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thank you for this trick Nick! Awesome!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. MichaelB

    MichaelB Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    3
    Looks idealy we should post a log for 3CX Phone for further investigation. But can you confirm that you have enough disk space on your host/machine?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.