3cx Phone on Android 2.1 (HTC Hero)

Discussion in 'Android' started by ccomley, Dec 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ccomley

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm trying to get tunnel access working.

    3CX Phone on my HTC Hero works fine over WiFi inside the office.

    But i'd quite like it to work on the road.

    So far, it simply refuses to register via the tunnel.

    The firewall doesn't report any contact.

    I've checked the firewall is open on 5090 and NAT mapped correctly, and the server responsd (using GRC Shields UP!) - that test so far is the only traffic to the IP/Port that the firewall is showing in the log.

    This is over Mobile by the way, havn't tried it with an external WiFi connection yet.

    Any known issues???

    (Pbx is V10 SP5. 3CX Phone is 1.3.3 - I'll try grabbing 1.3.4 later one. HTC Hero is on Android 2.1-update-1 - the latest and last, AIUI, for this model.)
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    227
    Try getting it to work using external WiFi, first, as 3G and the like, can introduce "other" issues.
     
  3. ccomley

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    1.3.4 was no better. Will try it when next near an external WiFi I can use. Which is probably over Xmas at the in-laws. :)
     
  4. ccomley

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have now tried to get 3CX Phone on Android connecting to my tunnel via both 3G and WiFi, from remote locations. Totally without joy.

    I successfully connected my laptop's 3CX Phone over the same WiFi link, so I know the tunnel is working and that there was no issue with the remote site's router, firewal, or ISP upsetting the traffic.

    I'm surprised that there is no logging/debugging on the Android taht I can see for the app.

    The firewall at the "PBX" end of the link doesn't register the attempt to connect on 5090, so whatever's breaking, is at the far (i.e. android) end.

    Any suggestions welcome.
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    227
    Did you ever get the Android working on (remote) WiFi, NOT using the tunnel?
     
  6. ccomley

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    Havn't tried - not opening up external ports for that, that's the whole point of the tunnel.

    Just assuming teh Android 3CX software is crap and have moved on.
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    227
    Well, you have to open port 5090 for the tunnel to work.

    How are you defining the server, by IP or a domain name?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.