3CX Phone Remotely Connecting to Free IP PBX

Discussion in 'Windows' started by dvelleux, Dec 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dvelleux

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Folks,

    I have a free 3CX IP PBX located at 64.149.253.209. In early November, I put in a new router (Linksys E1000) connected to a Speedstream 5100 DSL modem in bridge mode. 3CX Firewall Checker runs PERFECTLY, and no warnings show at all, so I should be good to go...

    I am trying to connect remotely to the PBX with a 3CX Phone on a desktop PC from home. I just put in a Speedstream 5100 DSL modem in bridge mode with a Linksys WRT54G Wireless router. I upgraded the firmware on both these units to the latest available, since they are my home set-up. I can surf the web easily, but the 3CX Phone will NOT connect, no matter if I run the tunnel or not. Yes, the extension is configured properly. The SIP Proxy Manager runs, but the Phone will still not connect...

    Are my issues due to using the free version? Please let me know. Thanks in advance...
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,567
    Likes Received:
    246
    Using the "free" version will not make a difference. Both the 3CX phone and PBX have logs that will help you diagnose what is going on. Does the 3Cx log show that the phone is even attempting to register?

    Sorry, bridge mode..because...It's also a router?
     
  3. dvelleux

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    leejor,

    I put the DSL modems into bridge mode on both ends to reduce the amount of NAT transversals a SIP packet needs to contend with when coming in from the Internet. By putting the modems into bridge mode, the modem acts more like a "secure pipe," thus shielding and directing things right to the router, which then uses the static port mapping to go to the 3CX server...

    I shall try looking at the logs on my end tonight...
     
  4. dvelleux

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    leejor,

    I think I fixed one issue: since both link ends have Linksys routers (IP PBX: Linksys E1000; home: Linksys WRT54G), each router defaults to 192.168.1.1 as the default gateway. Once I realized my error, I changed my WRT54G router at home to be a DHCP server giving out IPs in the 192.168.5.X range. Hopefully, that change will correct some issues, but I first need to find where the 3CX Phone logs are stored in my home PC's hard drive...
     
  5. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    It looks like there is the problem with network topology (routing). SIP proxy tunnel should not be sensitive to addresses of default gateways and/or addresses of phone/PBX hosts.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    67
    Hi
    Open 3CXphone's Debug window; in File menu choose "Configuration folder..."; there go to the Logs folder.
    In this folder are stored two log files: PhoneSIP.log, for phone's SIP handling, and PhoneTunnel.log, for phone's tunnel handling.

    If these files are missing, it means logging is not enabled. To enable, exit 3CXPhone then open 3CXVoipPhone.ini - phone's configuration file. There, under [General] section, search for and set to 1 following parameters:

    SipTraceLog=1
    TunnelLog=1

    Save the file and run 3CXPhone. When you no longer need logging, set the same parameters back to 0.

    Hope it helps
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dvelleux

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vali_3cx, et al.,

    I modified the config.ini file to start both logs, which were not there before. I restarted the Phone and here is the PhoneSIP log:

    (9572)1000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(246):Unable to change priority of RTP receiver(audio) from '2147483647' to '0'
    (9572)1000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(264):Unable to set affinity mask of RTP receiver(audio) to '3'
    (9572)1000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(288):Unable to set ideal processor for RTP receiver(audio) to '32'
    (9572)1000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(246):Unable to change priority of RTP receiver(control) from '2147483647' to '0'
    (9572)1000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(264):Unable to set affinity mask of RTP receiver(control) to '3'
    (9572)1000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(288):Unable to set ideal processor for RTP receiver(control) to '32'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(253):priority of RTP receiver(audio) has been set to '0'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(271):Affinity mask of RTP receiver(audio) has been changed to '3'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(295):Ideal processor for RTP receiver(audio) is set to '32'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(253):priority of RTP receiver(control) has been set to '0'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(271):Affinity mask of RTP receiver(control) has been changed to '3'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(295):Ideal processor for RTP receiver(control) is set to '32'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(467):priority of RTP sender has been set to '0'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(485):Affinity mask of RTP sender has been changed to '3'
    (9572)4000400|.\RTPSide.cpp(509):Ideal processor for RTP sender is set to '32'
    (9572)8000110|.\ssl\Security.cxx(867):BaseSecurity::BaseSecurity
    (9572)8000108|.\dns\AresDns.cxx(141):DNS initialization: found 2 name servers
    (9572)8000108|.\dns\AresDns.cxx(144): name server: 68.94.156.1
    (9572)8000108|.\dns\AresDns.cxx(144): name server: 68.94.157.1
    (9572)8000110|.\Compression.cxx(40):COMPRESSION SUPPORT NOT COMPILED IN
    (9572)8000110|.\Compression.cxx(43):Compression configuration object created; algorithm = 0
    (9572)8000110|.\TransportSelector.cxx(93):No compression library available
    (9572)8000108|.\UdpTransport.cxx(42):Creating UDP transport host= port=51450 ipv4=1
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(86):Creating fd=1524 V4/UDP
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(94):Binding to 0.0.0.0
    (9572)8000110|.\UdpTransport.cxx(60):No compression library available: Transport: [ V4 0.0.0.0:51450 UDP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=1524 ]
    (9572)8000110|.\TransportSelector.cxx(192):Adding transport: [ V4 0.0.0.0:51450 UDP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=0 ]
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionBase.cxx(49):ConnectionBase::ConnectionBase, who: [ V4 0.0.0.0:0 UNKNOWN_TRANSPORT target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=0 ] 072716F0
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionBase.cxx(62):No compression library available: 072716F0
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionManager.cxx(24):ConnectionManager::ConnectionManager() called
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(86):Creating fd=1296 V4/TCP
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(94):Binding to 0.0.0.0
    (9572)8000108|.\TcpTransport.cxx(28):Creating TCP transport host= port=51450 ipv4=1
    (9572)8000110|.\TransportSelector.cxx(192):Adding transport: [ V4 0.0.0.0:51450 TCP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=0 ]
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionBase.cxx(49):ConnectionBase::ConnectionBase, who: [ V4 0.0.0.0:0 UNKNOWN_TRANSPORT target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=0 ] 07274698
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionBase.cxx(62):No compression library available: 07274698
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionManager.cxx(24):ConnectionManager::ConnectionManager() called
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(86):Creating fd=1320 V4/TCP
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(94):Binding to 0.0.0.0
    (9572)8000108|.\ssl\TlsTransport.cxx(40):Creating TLS transport for domain interface= port=51451
    (9572)8000110|.\ssl\Security.cxx(867):BaseSecurity::BaseSecurity
    (9572)8000108|.\dns\AresDns.cxx(141):DNS initialization: found 2 name servers
    (9572)8000108|.\dns\AresDns.cxx(144): name server: 68.94.156.1
    (9572)8000108|.\dns\AresDns.cxx(144): name server: 68.94.157.1
    (9572)8000110|.\Compression.cxx(40):COMPRESSION SUPPORT NOT COMPILED IN
    (9572)8000110|.\Compression.cxx(43):Compression configuration object created; algorithm = 0
    (9572)8000110|.\TransportSelector.cxx(93):No compression library available
    (9572)8000108|.\UdpTransport.cxx(42):Creating UDP transport host= port=51452 ipv4=1
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(86):Creating fd=1156 V4/UDP
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(94):Binding to 0.0.0.0
    (9572)8000110|.\UdpTransport.cxx(60):No compression library available: Transport: [ V4 0.0.0.0:51452 UDP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=1156 ]
    (9572)8000110|.\TransportSelector.cxx(192):Adding transport: [ V4 0.0.0.0:51452 UDP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=0 ]
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionBase.cxx(49):ConnectionBase::ConnectionBase, who: [ V4 0.0.0.0:0 UNKNOWN_TRANSPORT target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=0 ] 07270E50
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionBase.cxx(62):No compression library available: 07270E50
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionManager.cxx(24):ConnectionManager::ConnectionManager() called
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(86):Creating fd=1752 V4/TCP
    (9572)8000110|.\InternalTransport.cxx(94):Binding to 0.0.0.0
    (9572)8000108|.\TcpTransport.cxx(28):Creating TCP transport host= port=51452 ipv4=1
    (9572)8000110|.\TransportSelector.cxx(192):Adding transport: [ V4 0.0.0.0:51452 TCP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=0 ]
    (9572)8000110|.\UserProfile.cxx(135):Adding credential: realm=3CXPhone user=15
    (9572)8000110|.\UserProfile.cxx(135):Adding credential: realm=3CXPhone user=15
    (9572)8000110|.\UserProfile.cxx(135):Adding credential: realm=3CXPhone user=15
    (10096)8000108|.\TuSelector.cxx(70):Stats message
    (10096)2000104|.\StatisticsMessage.cxx(152):RESIP:TRANSACTION

    TU summary: 0 TRANSPORT 0 TRANSACTION 0 CLIENTTX 0 SERVERTX 0 TIMERS 0

    Transaction summary: reqi 0 reqo 0 rspi 0 rspo 0

    Details: INVi 0/S0/F0 INVo 0/S0/F0 ACKi 0 ACKo 0 BYEi 0/S0/F0 BYEo 0/S0/F0 CANi 0/S0/F0 CANo 0/S0/F0 MSGi 0/S0/F0 MSGo 0/S0/F0 OPTi 0/S0/F0 OPTo 0/S0/F0 REGi 0/S0/F0 REGo 0/S0/F0 PUBi 0/S0/F0 PUBo 0/S0/F0 SUBi 0/S0/F0 SUBo 0/S0/F0 NOTi 0/S0/F0 NOTo 0/S0/F0

    Retransmissions: INVx 0 BYEx 0 CANx 0 MSGx 0 OPTx 0 REGx 0 finx 0 nonx 0 PUBx 0 SUBx 0 NOTx 0
    (9568)8000108|.\TuSelector.cxx(70):Stats message
    (9568)2000104|.\StatisticsMessage.cxx(152):RESIP:TRANSACTION

    TU summary: 0 TRANSPORT 0 TRANSACTION 0 CLIENTTX 0 SERVERTX 0 TIMERS 0

    Transaction summary: reqi 0 reqo 0 rspi 0 rspo 0

    Details: INVi 0/S0/F0 INVo 0/S0/F0 ACKi 0 ACKo 0 BYEi 0/S0/F0 BYEo 0/S0/F0 CANi 0/S0/F0 CANo 0/S0/F0 MSGi 0/S0/F0 MSGo 0/S0/F0 OPTi 0/S0/F0 OPTo 0/S0/F0 REGi 0/S0/F0 REGo 0/S0/F0 PUBi 0/S0/F0 PUBo 0/S0/F0 SUBi 0/S0/F0 SUBo 0/S0/F0 NOTi 0/S0/F0 NOTo 0/S0/F0

    Retransmissions: INVx 0 BYEx 0 CANx 0 MSGx 0 OPTx 0 REGx 0 finx 0 nonx 0 PUBx 0 SUBx 0 NOTx 0
    (10096)8000108|.\TuSelector.cxx(70):Stats message
    (10096)2000104|.\StatisticsMessage.cxx(152):RESIP:TRANSACTION

    TU summary: 0 TRANSPORT 0 TRANSACTION 0 CLIENTTX 0 SERVERTX 0 TIMERS 0

    Transaction summary: reqi 0 reqo 0 rspi 0 rspo 0

    Details: INVi 0/S0/F0 INVo 0/S0/F0 ACKi 0 ACKo 0 BYEi 0/S0/F0 BYEo 0/S0/F0 CANi 0/S0/F0 CANo 0/S0/F0 MSGi 0/S0/F0 MSGo 0/S0/F0 OPTi 0/S0/F0 OPTo 0/S0/F0 REGi 0/S0/F0 REGo 0/S0/F0 PUBi 0/S0/F0 PUBo 0/S0/F0 SUBi 0/S0/F0 SUBo 0/S0/F0 NOTi 0/S0/F0 NOTo 0/S0/F0

    Retransmissions: INVx 0 BYEx 0 CANx 0 MSGx 0 OPTx 0 REGx 0 finx 0 nonx 0 PUBx 0 SUBx 0 NOTx 0
    (9568)8000108|.\TuSelector.cxx(70):Stats message
    (9568)2000104|.\StatisticsMessage.cxx(152):RESIP:TRANSACTION

    TU summary: 0 TRANSPORT 0 TRANSACTION 0 CLIENTTX 0 SERVERTX 0 TIMERS 0

    Transaction summary: reqi 0 reqo 0 rspi 0 rspo 0

    Details: INVi 0/S0/F0 INVo 0/S0/F0 ACKi 0 ACKo 0 BYEi 0/S0/F0 BYEo 0/S0/F0 CANi 0/S0/F0 CANo 0/S0/F0 MSGi 0/S0/F0 MSGo 0/S0/F0 OPTi 0/S0/F0 OPTo 0/S0/F0 REGi 0/S0/F0 REGo 0/S0/F0 PUBi 0/S0/F0 PUBo 0/S0/F0 SUBi 0/S0/F0 SUBo 0/S0/F0 NOTi 0/S0/F0 NOTo 0/S0/F0

    Retransmissions: INVx 0 BYEx 0 CANx 0 MSGx 0 OPTx 0 REGx 0 finx 0 nonx 0 PUBx 0 SUBx 0 NOTx 0
    (10096)8000108|.\TuSelector.cxx(70):Stats message
    (10096)2000104|.\StatisticsMessage.cxx(152):RESIP:TRANSACTION

    TU summary: 0 TRANSPORT 0 TRANSACTION 0 CLIENTTX 0 SERVERTX 0 TIMERS 0

    Transaction summary: reqi 0 reqo 0 rspi 0 rspo 0

    Details: INVi 0/S0/F0 INVo 0/S0/F0 ACKi 0 ACKo 0 BYEi 0/S0/F0 BYEo 0/S0/F0 CANi 0/S0/F0 CANo 0/S0/F0 MSGi 0/S0/F0 MSGo 0/S0/F0 OPTi 0/S0/F0 OPTo 0/S0/F0 REGi 0/S0/F0 REGo 0/S0/F0 PUBi 0/S0/F0 PUBo 0/S0/F0 SUBi 0/S0/F0 SUBo 0/S0/F0 NOTi 0/S0/F0 NOTo 0/S0/F0

    Retransmissions: INVx 0 BYEx 0 CANx 0 MSGx 0 OPTx 0 REGx 0 finx 0 nonx 0 PUBx 0 SUBx 0 NOTx 0
    (9568)8000108|.\TuSelector.cxx(70):Stats message
    (9568)2000104|.\StatisticsMessage.cxx(152):RESIP:TRANSACTION

    TU summary: 0 TRANSPORT 0 TRANSACTION 0 CLIENTTX 0 SERVERTX 0 TIMERS 0

    Transaction summary: reqi 0 reqo 0 rspi 0 rspo 0

    Details: INVi 0/S0/F0 INVo 0/S0/F0 ACKi 0 ACKo 0 BYEi 0/S0/F0 BYEo 0/S0/F0 CANi 0/S0/F0 CANo 0/S0/F0 MSGi 0/S0/F0 MSGo 0/S0/F0 OPTi 0/S0/F0 OPTo 0/S0/F0 REGi 0/S0/F0 REGo 0/S0/F0 PUBi 0/S0/F0 PUBo 0/S0/F0 SUBi 0/S0/F0 SUBo 0/S0/F0 NOTi 0/S0/F0 NOTo 0/S0/F0

    Retransmissions: INVx 0 BYEx 0 CANx 0 MSGx 0 OPTx 0 REGx 0 finx 0 nonx 0 PUBx 0 SUBx 0 NOTx 0
    (9572)8000110|.\SipStack.cxx(90):SipStack::~SipStack()
    (9572)8000110|.\ssl\Security.cxx(915):BaseSecurity::~BaseSecurity
    (9572)8000110|.\TcpBaseTransport.cxx(74):Shutting down [ V4 0.0.0.0:51452 TCP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=0 ]
    (9572)8000110|.\ConnectionBase.cxx(89):ConnectionBase::~ConnectionBase 07270E50
    (9572)8000108|.\UdpTransport.cxx(66):Shutting down [ V4 0.0.0.0:51452 UDP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=1156 ]

    Here is the Tunnel Log:

    09:42:44:483 - Info : Logger started-------------------------------------------------------------------------
    09:42:47:248 - Trace : Local address has been specified as NULL or 0.0.0.0, choosed as best one 192.168.5.10
    09:42:47:259 - Trace : Iface info read: idx=0x0000000B; ip=192.168.5.10; mask=0xFFFFFF00
    09:42:47:259 - Trace : Iface info read: idx=0x00000014; ip=169.254.2.2; mask=0xFFFFFF00
    09:42:47:259 - Trace : Iface info read: idx=0x00000001; ip=127.0.0.1; mask=0xFF000000
    09:42:47:286 - Info : Tunnel is now listening for SIP calls on 51449 for bridge 123456 [123456]
    09:42:47:289 - Info : Attempting to connect remote tunnel 123456 [64.249.253.209:5090]
    09:43:08:288 - Warning : Connection failed, next attempt in 430 msec
    09:43:08:388 - Info : Connection thread stopped
    09:43:08:507 - Info : Tunnel 123456 with ID=123456 has been now shut down------------------------------------------------------
    09:43:11:357 - Trace : Local address has been specified as NULL or 0.0.0.0, choosed as best one 192.168.5.10
    09:43:11:366 - Trace : Iface info read: idx=0x0000000B; ip=192.168.5.10; mask=0xFFFFFF00
    09:43:11:367 - Trace : Iface info read: idx=0x00000014; ip=169.254.2.2; mask=0xFFFFFF00
    09:43:11:367 - Trace : Iface info read: idx=0x00000001; ip=127.0.0.1; mask=0xFF000000
    09:43:11:388 - Info : Tunnel is now listening for SIP calls on 51452 for bridge 123456 [123456]
    09:43:11:395 - Info : Attempting to connect remote tunnel 123456 [64.249.253.209:5090]
    09:43:32:388 - Warning : Connection failed, next attempt in 430 msec
    09:43:32:489 - Info : Attempting to connect remote tunnel 123456 [64.249.253.209:5090]
    09:43:53:493 - Warning : Connection failed, next attempt in 3526 msec
    09:43:53:593 - Info : Attempting to connect remote tunnel 123456 [64.249.253.209:5090]
    09:44:14:601 - Warning : Connection failed, next attempt in 1462 msec
    09:44:14:702 - Info : Attempting to connect remote tunnel 123456 [64.249.253.209:5090]
     
  8. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    67
    Hi
    Thanks for logs. Here seems to be the issue:

    Failed to connect remote tunnel 123456 [64.249.253.209:5090]

    64.249.253.209 looks like a public IP - in a command prompt, try a ping to 64.249.253.209 and a telnet to 64.249.253.209:5090. Me I've tried and none works - definitely telnet SHOULD work in order for phone to work also.

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. dvelleux

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vali_3CX,

    I corrected one issue, because I had the wrong IP address, which should be 64.149.253.209. I believe the other issue is with the router at the PBX end, which is not set to respond to pings...

    I will look into things from here and will advise...
     
  10. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    67
    Hi
    I've mentioned ping only because it might provide a hint regarding connection but, overall, it's meaningless from 3CXPhone's point of view. Only valid and significant test is the telnet. So you don't have to set your server to respond to ping.

    Sorry for confusion.
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. RobKasbow

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    develleux:

    I had a similar problem and even though I am using a static IP for the server, I had to turn on the STUN service. Remote connections now work.

    Best regards,

    Rob
    PBX Mobility Solutions
    rob.kasbow@pbx-mobility-solutions.com
     
  12. antler

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo forum,

    I appear to have suddenly started to experience the same problem, i.e. "Tunnel is attempting to connect remote tunnel 123456 [external IP address]".

    I have the 3cx server on a pc, I have a laptop on the same LAN and during testing I configured an account on the softphone to connect internally, i.e. 'I am in the office'. I also configured a 'I am out of the office' and to use my 'dyndns' account and the tunnel, this contained the actual internal IP address [192.168...]of my 3cx server.

    Everything worked well until, I think that is, I decided to completely reconfigure my internal network away from 192.168.... and to use 10.wx.yz.ab.

    I reconfigured my router, restarted it to ensure correct update etc, I reconfigured all of my 'internal' extensions away from 192.168... to 10.wx.....they all worked perfectly.

    But now I find that I am unable to connect to the 3cx externally, i.e. using the tunnel, I do not see attempts to connect in the 3cx logs which would suggest possibly a router problem but I find that I can not even connect using the tunnel funtion on my softphone actually on the pc that holds the 3cx software!

    Apart from driving me crazy, I am desperate to get the external extensions working again!!

    Was there an answer to the above query or can someone help,

    Much appreciated, give a shout if further additional information is needed,

    Regards,

    Antler.
     
  13. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Antler,

    It looks like you simply forgot to change port forwarding... They are still forwarded to the previous local address 192.168...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. antler

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Stepan,

    Thanks for the swift response but I am afraid I have already checked this area and I have the necessary ports forwarded to my 3cx server pc and all looks good.

    Only thing I can think of apart from my network reconfiguration is that I recently did a firmware upgrade on my router, but saying that, everything else about the upgrade appears to be running well.

    I have looked through and carried out searches on this 3cx forum for keywords etc and there is mention of pinging this and doing that etc, but none of them go on to say what one should expect!.
    Are you aware of any tests I can make to check this tunneling which appears to be the problem because if I simply change the condition from 'I am out of office' to 'I am in the office' and uncheck the 'Use 3cx tunnel', I am able to successfully connect which confirms that my ID's and pwd's are correct.

    Thanks in advance,

    Antler.
     
  15. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    It was my guess which was based on
    in context of
    Check tunnel password used by the phone and compare it with tunnel password set on PBX.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. antler

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Stepan,

    Again thanks but this is not the issue. I have checked and double checked the data config and they are the same on the 3cxsoftphone and the pbx. I have even trurned on the auto provision of the softphone and I can see the pwd set on the phone.

    Just to be clear, I have cfg'd my sogtphone which is on the same pc as I have the server but set as ÄOut of office' and to use the 3cx tunnel. As mentioned, whilst I had the original IP range 192.168..., I was able to register and make / receive calls but since I have recfg my network to use the 10..... address range, it all fails.
    I have run wireshark and see messages going to and coming from the external IP address, irresepective of whether I use the 'dyndns' or if I place my current external IP address in the 'I am out of office' area. The problem is I am not sure what I should expect to see on the wireshark!!

    I have restarted my 3cx server pc, removed and re'cfg the extension that would normally be access externally, shut down and then restarted my router [fritz box 7270], only other thing I can think of at the mo is to reset my network back to the 192.168... and obviously, until I do, I will not know if this will be successful.

    Any other ideas or snapshots of what I should receive on wireshark étc would be gratefully received.

    Antler.
     
  17. antler

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo all,

    As mentioned, it was my intention to switch everything back to as it was previously, i.e. back to the 192.168...... IP range and to fallback to my original router software config.
    Glad I never had the time to do this as I found under the Advanced and Custom Parameters, residual mention of the 192.168 addresses [MS & CM EXTERNALINTERFACES] albeit changing these manually to my 10.....IP of my interface also had little impact.

    But I have been able to solve the issue by creating a backup, downloading the whole of v10 again restoring my system, the tunnel function is now 100% operational so bottom line is, I have absolutely no idea what caused the problem!

    Regards,

    Antler.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.