3CX Phone System V15 - Install instructions and Feedback

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by NickD_3CX, Jun 14, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    68
    3CX Phone System V15 Release Candidate has been released!

    We have created this separate category in our Forum so that we can gather all the feedback regarding V15 in one place. Any issues you may have or find, feel free to post them here and any supporting material (screenshots, logs, etc) will be more than welcome. Also try to be as detailed as possible to help us also replicate the same thing you have.

    How to install:
    1) Click here https://www.3cx.com/voip-ip-pbx/ and fill in the form.
    2) Once you submit the form, download the V15 installer from the links and you should also receive a Verification Email (check your spam folder).
    3) Once you use the link in the Verification Email, you should receive a second email containing a V15 demo key which you can use.
    4) Launch the setup and follow the instructions.

    3CX V15 Release Candidate requires you to take a backup of your existing 3CX installation and uninstall.
    After you download the setup, install and restore the backup.

    Downloads:
    - 3CX Phone System V15
    - 3CX WebMeeting Android app

    Changelogs:
    - View the complete change log for 3CX Phone System
    - View the 3CX client for Windows change log
    - View the 3CX WebMeeting change log
    - View the 3CX WebMeeting for Android change log

    Admin Manual:
    - Introduction & Installation
    - Extension / Endpoint Management
    - Trunk Management
    - System Management
    - PBX Services

    Happy 3CX'ing !!
     
    #1 NickD_3CX, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 17, 2017
  2. patricksmalley

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not a big fan of the PBX config window, mostly since I am having an issue getting the interface to load after using it.

    Why not ask for the initial details during the install like the old method?
     
  3. patricksmalley

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, got mine working. Here are the things I changed:
    1. In the backup.zip I entered the new v15 key (within the xml config file) and re-packed the zip. Why didn't the configuration tool stop the process and give me a chance to fix the problem instead of uninstall/reinstall.
    2. My certificate key file was encrypted so I converted it to a decrypted key. Not sure why the configuration utility didn't catch this.

    With both of these changes things are working great now. Loving the new interface.

    Again, the config tool needs to provide the opportunity to fix errors/issues with the configuration instead of plowing ahead. Having to re-install the product every time there was an issue is very annoying.
     
  4. javierme

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    for version 15 where is the new key file located ?
     
  5. iamgreen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there! I tried to bump my firms internal 3cx install from 14 to 15. It instructions seemed pretty straight forward. I backed up my 14, installed it, rebooted it then started the 15 installer.

    The CL installer started and I followed the instructions until it came to SSL stuff. When I enter mh FQDN name (in this case martiansystems) it says that the host is bound to another key. Then I am prompted to enter a new FQDN name. I've tried a dozen or so in different 3CX TLD's but the installer reverts back to 1 for new installation or 2 for a restore. At this point I.m loading my old V.14 back on.
     
  6. 3CXNewbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CX Phone System V15 - Install error

    Fortunately, attempted the upgrade on a test system. :!:

    On installing, get the CMD prompt asking if want to restore or setup a new system. What ever option I choose, after entering key I get:

    Setup error:
    System.AggregateException: One or more errors occurred. ---> PostInstall.Externa
    lIpReceivingException: An error occurred while sending the request. ---> System.
    Net.Http.HttpRequestException: An error occurred while sending the request. --->
    System.Net.WebException: The remote name could not be resolved: 'erp.3cx.com'
    at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.EndGetResponse(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
    at System.Net.Http.HttpClientHandler.GetResponseCallback(IAsyncResult ar)
    --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task task)
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNot
    ification(Task task)
    at PostInstall.ErpService.<StartExternalIpRequestInternal>d__17.MoveNext()
    --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    at PostInstall.ErpService.<StartExternalIpRequestInternal>d__17.MoveNext()
    --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    at System.Threading.Tasks.Task`1.GetResultCore(Boolean waitCompletionNotifica
    tion)
    at PbxConfigTool.IpSelectRequest.GetMessage(SetupSettings settings)
    at PbxConfigTool.OptionsRequest`1.RequestData(IConsoleWrapper console, SetupS
    ettings settings)
    at PbxConfigTool.MenuTree.GetInstallationSettings(MenuNode rootMenuNode, Setu
    pSettings setupSettings)
    at PbxConfigTool.Program.Main(String[] args)
    ---> (Inner Exception #0) PostInstall.ExternalIpReceivingException: An error occ
    urred while sending the request. ---> System.Net.Http.HttpRequestException: An e
    rror occurred while sending the request. ---> System.Net.WebException: The remot
    e name could not be resolved: 'erp.3cx.com'
    at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.EndGetResponse(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
    at System.Net.Http.HttpClientHandler.GetResponseCallback(IAsyncResult ar)
    --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task task)
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNot
    ification(Task task)
    at PostInstall.ErpService.<StartExternalIpRequestInternal>d__17.MoveNext()
    --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    at PostInstall.ErpService.<StartExternalIpRequestInternal>d__17.MoveNext()<--


    I can resolve erp.3cx.com and access website. After the failure, have to uninstall and reinstall V15.

    Any one else had this issue?

    Thanks.
     
  7. srttbe

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. michaelholt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just fresh installed Version 15. I then renewed maintenance for the license key.

    The problem is that the dashboard still has the old date but if you click on it to go to the licensing screen, the new date shows.

    Must be a bug?
     
  9. mteague

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm having the same issue...but haven't updated to SP2 yet. Maybe it was fixed in SP2?
     
  10. JonnyM

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Feedback is that it's working, the Linux version is nice to have and I'm considering moving it to AWS once the product has matured a bit. Observations/suggestions:
    • There's no need for system status to be worded as "x% free" or "4/100%" for the CPU - the charts are labelled as usage already, just a number in here with a % symbol will get the point across
    • It would be nice to have a button in the UI to reboot the whole server / shut it down ready for power off
    • The status of extensions is gone, it was nice to be able to see if a phone was in use before rebooting it
    • I use my own FQDN and cert with 3CX, it would be nice to be able to use that with the webmeeting service, or at least get a say in what the .3cx.net domain I get allocated is
    • Playback of hold music and prompts in the web UI would be welcomed, rather than having to play back through a phone
    • I can only ctrl+click items in the list of extensions and phones, it would be nice to be able to shift+click as well
    • Some way of classifying available plugins differently from updates, otherwise I'm going to have an update count badge in the UI forever unless I download phone firmware for handsets I don't use, prompts for languages I don't speak and plugins for CRM products that I don't have
     
  11. jamesbowen

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trying to migrate from Version 14 to v15 3CX on Debian. However the backup (.zip) is not being recognized from either the initial web-setup or the 'Backup and Restore' facility. in fact the 'Backup and Restore' function does not even see the zip file in the folder location.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.