3cx phone tunnel issues

Discussion in 'Windows' started by toby_rdc, Mar 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toby_rdc

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello !

    I have a lot of client that needs to connect remotely into our system. For this reason we have a 3cx system on a separat computer directly in internet with static IP.

    After upgrade to 7.1xxx (3CX server) we have problems with the tunnel connection.
    I must use tunnel because if i use direct connection i can call into the system but if someone calls it never "rings" in the external phone. It is possible to call another phone who is conencted with tunnel.
    However when using tunnel the ring works fine.
    All looks good, we can receive and send calls with the tunnel, but there is no sound what so ever. If i change to direct connection sound works fine, but in that case the external 3cx phone does not receive the call.

    I am using 3cx softphone ver 7.xxx.

    As the tunnel is working should not the sound work as well as it is bundeld into the tunnel connection.
    Really need som help on this one or someona who can explain why the ring does not arrive in direct mode.
    All modes are ofcourse "out of office" in this case.

    Toby
     
  2. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    67
    Hi, Toby

    Toby, if the PBX you're using is the latest one - RC2, released on few days ago, on March 25 - then definitely you will not be able to use Voip Client's tunnel. Starting with RC2, the tunneling "audio" protocol has been changed, and it's no longer compatible with 3CX Voip Client's tunnel or with 3.0.x 3CX Voip Phone's one.

    P.S Please check RC2 release notes about these changes
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/releases/3cx-phone-system-71-rc2/

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. xor@redlink.de

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm having the same problem with RC1 and the most current VoIP Phone - this probably means it will work again when I upgrade the phone system to RC2?
     
  4. xor@redlink.de

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, now I upgraded to RC2 and the tunnel doesn't work at all anymore...

    Attempting to connect 1.2.3.4
    Using network interface 127.0.0.1
    Tunnel got as listening port 4873
    Tunnel got as local SIP port 4874
    Phone got as local port 4875
    RTP engine OK
    SIP engine OK
    Sound mic device OK
    Sound ring device OK
    Sound play device OK
    Tunnel required cfg file:C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\User\Lokale Einstellungen\Anwendungsdaten\3CX VoIP Phone\3CxVoipPhone.ini
    Tunnel logfile output:C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\User\Lokale Einstellungen\Anwendungsdaten\3CX VoIP Phone\Logs
    Tunnel logging: off
    Tunnel connection created OK
    Attempting to start the tunnel
    Tunnel started
    Tunnel is attempting to connect remote end
    Tunnel connection established
    Tunnel send from phone to PBX: REGISTER
    Tunnel has been disconnected by remote end
    Tunnel is attempting to connect remote end
    Tunnel connection established
    Phone is no longer connected

    Wtf?
     
  5. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    67
    Hi

    Please tell me if the sequence above repeats continuously. If yes, please check if the phone tunnel's password is the same as the one set in PBX's tunnel. Continuous phone tunnel disconnection usually means a mismatch between its credentials (ID/pass) and those of PBX tunnel :roll:

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. xor@redlink.de

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, resetting the password solved it. I probably changed it after doing the last pgsql dump, mea culpa.
    Proposal: the "debug" log should be more clear about this issue.
     
  7. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    67
    Hi

    There is no reason for "mea culpa", important is the issue is solved.

    About the password mismatch in the debug log - the tunnel can be disconnected by various reasons (remote tunnel is shutting down, the remote computer is shutting down, SIP troubles) and only repeatedly disconnections MIGHT BE a hint of authentication mismatch between tunnels. The simplest way to warn user about this possibility is to add, next to "Tunnel has been disconnected by remote end", the warning "; tunnel password might not match the remote one" or something like this.

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.