3CX phone: video support

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by KerryG, May 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cannot get video working between the 3CX softphone and a Grandstream GXV3140. It appears the only video codec in the softphone is h.263, for greater support it needs to have h.264.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. pjr

    pjr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: NEW 3CX Phone System Version 9 Beta Released

    Just to add weight to Kerrys response - we utilise SIP video door entry systems from 2N and they too require H.264 support to work.

    Video is a great bonus but you need H.264 support too (X-Lite offer this but I appreciate it's a paid for product). We wouldnt have an issue with a premium version of the phone with an associated cost, if it supported H.264.

    Paul
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    100
    For the moment as far as i know, we going to focus on making the Video Phone with the h.263 Codec fully functional and make sure there are no bugs.

    After that is ensured, it is possible that we might add other codecs as well, though it's not a promise.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    153
    Also H264 is like the G729 in audio. This means there are royalty fees etc etc. So get other devices to negotiate with H263 as well because when a software is free, licensed codecs do not look like a valid possibility.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Borsoock

    Borsoock New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    Grandstream added in latest GVX3140 firmware h.263 and h.263+ codecs. Make sure you have latest fw and check video codec settings (by default only h.264 is enabled as far as I remember).

    Thank

    Marcin

    BTW: I agree h.264 should be supported in 3CX commercial versions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. pjr

    pjr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you please add H.264 support for the commercial versions?

    Paul
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    100

    As far as i know we do not intend to put anything in the VoIP phone that would require the user to pay anything.
    G.729 for example or h.264 are codecs that we do not plan to implement in the VoIP phone any time soon.

    And for the GXV3140, you just need to upgrade the firmware, then you can simply go to the settings and change the codec to h.263


    Here's the proof, GXV3140 and the VoIP Phone



    We have fixed some issues regarding putting a Video Call on hold, and i'm pretty sure there are gonna be some other issues to iron out.
    Video phones themselves are pretty new and we've already reported bugs here and there to various Phone Manufacturers, so Video Issues may be common for a while until everyone gets their products ironed out.
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Video phones themselves are pretty new"

    Video phones have been available for several years and standardized on h264 right from the beginning.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just upgraded my GXV3140 to the latest version 1.0.3.24 and there is no h.263 support available in my codec selection. Are you using a beta firmware?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Borsoock

    Borsoock New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kerry, It's exactly FW 1.0.3.24 and codecs ar available in Account->Codec Settings as shown on picture from Leonidas. It hast to be there!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can tell you the settings are not there. I did the firmware update with files I downloaded this morning. Even tried a factory reset afterwards and there is no h263 codec there.
     

    Attached Files:

    • gs1.PNG
      gs1.PNG
      File size:
      12.8 KB
      Views:
      4,483
    • gs2.PNG
      gs2.PNG
      File size:
      17.7 KB
      Views:
      4,481
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Borsoock

    Borsoock New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Weird. Maybe Grandstream should put some light on this issue?
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed you have a newer hardware revision than mine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Borsoock

    Borsoock New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I noticed that too, I think Grandstream should explain what's going on anyway.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a message in with them already. Waiting for an answer.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    GS suggested I try a different browser or try clearing the cache, I was using Chrome. Opened web GUI with Firefox and h263 was there. Back to testing now.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    http://www.3cx.com/forums/management-console-and-chrome-browser-15335.html
    :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Video from GXV3104 to Softphone is only showing top 1/4 of the image being sent from the GXV3104
    Video from Softphone to GXV3104 is Correct
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hi Kerry

    Kerry, in GXV's video configuration panel there is a pair of video size options, CIF and QCIF (if I remember properly, I don't have the GS at my disposal now). Please check if QCIF is the selected one. QCIF is 176x144, CIF is 352x288 pixels.

    Regards
    vali

    later edit:
    this is the page snapshot, earlier posted by Borsoock, so be sure QCIF, not CIF, is selected.
    https://www.3cx.com/community/attachments/new-picture-jpg.1647/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    100
    And Kerry, i also have the Rev0.4 of the phone, it seems that only his revision has the h.263 Codec support.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.