3CX receiving calls but not able to make them

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by naralore, Sep 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. naralore

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi There Everyone,

    As I am new, I'm well aware this could be a small thing that I am over looking.

    I have recently gotten the SIP Trunk as part of my Optus FTTP Bundle to communicate to my 3CX server. I am currently using 3CX Softphones via the app on 2 iPhones. We are running v15 which has been awesome in terms of configuration. However I am new to setting up VoIP to this scale.

    Also after successfully registering the sip with 3cx it seems to have lost its marbles

    below are my error logs when I attempt to make a call
    09/19/2016 6:59:45 PM - [CM504005]: Registration failed for: Lc:10000(@Optus[<sip:+6124******0@ims01.yesphone.optus.com.au:5060>]); Cause: Cause: 408 Request Timeout/REGISTER from local
    09/19/2016 6:58:33 PM - Registration attempt for Lc:10000(@Optus[<sip:+6124******0@ims01.yesphone.optus.com.au:5060>]) is scheduled in 40 sec.
    09/19/2016 6:57:41 PM - Registration attempt for Lc:10000(@Optus[<sip:+6124******0@ims01.yesphone.optus.com.au:5060>]) is scheduled in 20 sec.
    09/19/2016 6:55:08 PM - [CM504005]: Registration failed for: Lc:10000(@Optus[<sip:+6124******0@ims01.yesphone.optus.com.au:5060>]); Cause: Cause: 408 Request Timeout/REGISTER from local
    09/19/2016 6:53:56 PM - Registration attempt for Lc:10000(@Optus[<sip:+6124******0@ims01.yesphone.optus.com.au:5060>]) is scheduled in 40 sec.
    09/19/2016 6:53:03 PM - Registration attempt for Lc:10000(@Optus[<sip:+6124******0@ims01.yesphone.optus.com.au:5060>]) is scheduled in 20 sec.
    09/19/2016 6:51:13 PM - [CM503003]: Call(C:10): Call to <sip:***@*******.3cx.com.au:5060> has failed; Cause: 487 Request Terminated/INVITE from 127.0.0.1:5488



    The making a call error is below;
    09/19/2016 6:36:28 PM - [Flow] Target endpoint for 0418****** can not be built!
    09/19/2016 6:34:13 PM - [Flow] Target endpoint for 0418****** can not be built!
    09/19/2016 6:34:02 PM - [Flow] Target endpoint for 0418****** can not be built!
    09/19/2016 6:28:00 PM - [Flow] Target endpoint for 0418****** can not be built!
    09/19/2016 6:27:26 PM - [Flow] Target endpoint for 0418****** can not be built!

    Can some also show me an example of how i would setup CID Building rules as I am not sure how I would do this for an Australia CID?

    I had originally thought something like +(61)(..)?? but wasn't sure of what the replacement would be if that was correct?

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,357
    Likes Received:
    224
    It would appear that you may have two issues...

    The registration issue, which your provider may be able to assist with. If the initial registration, or re-registrations are failing, then they should be able to tell you why. What setting is incorrect?

    The second part, I suspect, is to do with your outbound rules. Do you have a rule that matches the number being dialled?
     
  3. naralore

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Leejor,

    Thank you for your response.

    At the moment the re-registration has been solved and sip trunk has been steady for 24hrs with no disconnects. :D

    However I still cannot get any outbound calls.

    As I am new to 3CX and setting up a VoIP system like this. I have not configured any outbound rules at all as I am not too sure what I need to setup for Australian numbers or where to place it. I have no inbound rules either configured but they work fine from what I am able to understand.

    Both extensions are currently going to two iOS devices using the latest 3CX app as we are waiting to move to a new premise however we will have the same provider.
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,357
    Likes Received:
    224
    You won't be able to place any outside calls without the appropriate rules.

    http://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/outb ... e-example/

    Keep in mind that rules are read from top to bottom, so, if you want to route, or handle one, or several numbers differently, you would place them above a "general" rule for the remaining numbers.
    Don't forget any short , non-standard numbers. You have to take into account every possible number that your users will call. Of course most will fit into a category either based on length, or prefix. Be sure that you know the number format that your provider is expecting for each (local, toll, mobile, etc.) type of call.
     
  5. naralore

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Leejor,

    Unfortunately Optus has not been able to assist at the current time to provide me with what type of outbound prefix the require.

    I have attempted a test rule for outbound calls please see attached.

    This is a generic one for if someone dials a local number in NSW.

    I'm not quite sure how but I'd like to make a generic rule that allows all outbounds calls. Is this possible? as this will become a little tedious if I need to make one for every state and territory in Australia as well as on for Mobiles.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,357
    Likes Received:
    224
    You shouldn't have to create rules for every area, just different categories, local, toll,"special", and possibly mobile, if you wish to restrict calling to those because of the higher cost.

    How do you normally dial a local number, how many digits? Do you use an access code, such as a 9?
    How do you dial a toll number, what prefix do you use, how many digits, including that prefix?
    How do mobile numbers differ?
    What numbers remain. that don't fit into the above categories, i.e. fewer digits?
     
  7. naralore

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Leejor,

    I was able to configure the outbound calls with a little trial and error, Optus could provide me with the format they required and I have now been able to use the phone system to make and receive calls
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.