• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

3cx returning to 5060 instead of source port

Status
Not open for further replies.

Destonomos

Reaction score
I am inter-opting with a new phone and when it trys to connect to the 3cx server it does so through 4180 to port 5060 on the 3cx then the 3cx server responds from 5060 to 5060 instead of to 4180. Why does it do this automatically instead of returning traffic to 4180 so that the phone can register with the server?

I'm a noob to 3cx if you can't tell.

Destonomos said:
I am inter-opting with a new phone
Destonomos said:
it does so through 4180 to port 5060

What make/model phone is it?

Does this mean that the phone is on the same network or outside your LAN? Are you talking about port forwarding, in your router?

What does the set registration look like, in the 3CX server logs, that is where 3CX "learns" what SIP port the device is programmed to use.

Sorry, I was a little off in my info I presented. The router here on the pbx's network is sending it out 4180 to 5060 to the pbx but the pbx isn't doing the reverse, it is sending from 5060 to 5060. The PBX is sitting on a public IP address and the phone is connecting to that address.

Destonomos said:
but the pbx isn't doing the reverse, it is sending from 5060 to 5060.

It is sending it to what , a set? 3CX will send to whatever port the device registers with. If you datafill, in the set, that its port is 4180, the 3CX will send to 4180.
Have a look at the 3CX log just after the set registers, power the set down then up to force it to register if you have to. The log will show what 3Cx received from the set. It uses that info to send messages back to the set.