3CX Server Automation

Discussion in 'CRM / Helpdesk / App Integration' started by the136, Feb 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the136

Good Evening folks,

I am new to 3CX PBX and have some great ideas for getting a lot out of the system. I notice that there is an API, which is great! However, I cannot seem to find (in the 15 minutes I've been looking) any good places to start. A "Hello World" as you will.

I would really like to be able to click on a phone number and create a call connection. Pretty straightforward - if you are using the Windows Client. I want to be able to create a solution, initially in a CRM, whereby the server itself creates the call to my IP Phone.

I have a couple of examples of how to work around, but always it comes to the Software Client. I want to use an actual phone.

Anyone have any pointers? Please be kind.

2. edossantos

edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

Hi @the136,

If you want to trigger outbound calls, 3CX already provides click to call functionality from Chrome using an extension:
    https://www.3cx.com/blog/releases/click-to-dial-extension/

If that's not what you're looking for, you can create a CRM plug-in following this guide:
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/releases/crm-integration-diy/

When you create a plug-in for 3CXPhone, you will have a method MakeCall to trigger your outbound call.

This is all for the 3CXPhone client. If you want the call connected to a different phone, you can use 3CXPhone is CTI mode (controlling a desk phone). Or another option could be using the 3CX Call Control API (https://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/call-control-api/) on the server side, and launch the call from there. This Call Control API has a method in which you specify the source and the destination of the call. You can say for example "call from extension 100 to number 1234567890".

Hope the information helps.

Kind regards.