Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

3CX Services Stopped on their own - Now can't access Management Console

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jackwhittle, Mar 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just added a GXP-2160 to extension 1201 and provisioned it with 3CX, all working ok, then suddenly I received an email from 3CX telling me my services stopped...

    Calleed 3CX who told me I need to speak to Google Cloud (where it is hosted) and they'll fix it! Spoke to Google Cloud who said all technical issues are via email (absolutely disgusting).

    I've stopped the VM in google cloud and started it again, Google reports the VM is running but when I try and go to my Managament Console for 3CX via (companyname).3cx.co.uk domain, it times out and says "the site can't be reached" - Took too long to respond.

    Who can fix this? Me, Google or 3CX? I think the DNS or IP may have gone dodgy in the restart process but I'm not sure, phone system has been off for 40 minutes now, probably losing business left, right and centre £££££! Any advice is very much appreciated!!

    Regards

    Jack
     
  2. Rob24h

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can you login via SSH?
     
  3. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I do that? I'm so annoyed and panicky that I can't even think straight! :(
     
  4. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    It opens a command prompt and says connected in green?
     
  5. Legop

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try this command: systemctl start 3CXPhoneSystemMC01
    I've had my Management Console die when adding extensions, sometimes so very much dead I could not restart it and had to reinstall the server, reloading the config from a backup.
     
  6. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I've just had an email telling me my public IP has changed, I knew it was something like that! Now the only other thing is how do I get my 3cx subdomain to resolve to the new IP?

    Thanks for you help so far!
     
  7. Legop

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should do that automatically. Might take some time.
     
  8. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh, I hope so! Now my bloody GXP-2160 says that my password is incorrect! What on earth is going on today! Ugh! Is that now set via 3CX as it's provisioned?
     
  9. Legop

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably, when you have access to the Mgnt Console again, check under 'phones'. There's a button called "Phone UI" which should take you there.
     
  10. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh, I'll check, it's still not resolving as of yet but I hope it does soon! Over an hour all the lines have been off and our management team are sweating! It's literally caused a massive riot with senior management as we've probably lost between 300-350 calls in that hour! :(
     
  11. Legop

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's such an important system that an hour of downtime will cause a panic, it really needs a fallback pbx.
    Have you tried accessing the Mgnt Console through just the IP? Something like https://ip:5001 ?
    It should be back by now.
     
  12. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, this is something that we're looking into at the moment. I have tried via the IP but still no success. :(
     
  13. Legop

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I have logged in there and it shows the change of IP next to the domain name but as of now, it's still not resolving. Perhaps it needs time to propagate DNS settings worldwide?
     
  15. jackwhittle

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, just checked on whatsmydns.net and the domain is now resolving to the correct IP but for some reason, again, it is still not working from my end! All I get is
    "This site can’t be reached
    companyname.3cx.co.uk took too long to respond."
     
  16. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    535
    Hello @jackwhittle

    I would recommend that since you have a high traffic system and remote phones that you acquire a static public IP from google to avoid future IP changes. Having said that since you have SSH access check if the management console is started.

    Code:
     service 3CXPhoneSystemMC01 status
    Is the service running?
     
  17. Legop

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    If just the Mgnt Console was stopped, he'd still get the 3CX login page. At least from my experience.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.