3CX softphone and windows 7 stability

Discussion in 'Windows' started by shane_robinson, May 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shane_robinson

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    We are relatively new to 3CX having just installed our phone system last week. We had previously been using skype for all of our phone calls and have finally made the switch to 3CX. We have about 15 users and all are keen to continue to use softphones. All of our machines are running windows 7 64-bit. On all of the machines, the 3cx softphone seems to crash once a day and needs to be restarted. This often happens after long periods of inactivity. The company that installed the 3cx system on our server said this is a a problem with Windows and not necessarily a problem with the 3CX softphone. I tried several other softphones and many showed a similar but different artefact. I have the Bria softphone 3 running on my machine now and this seems to be the only one that will work continuously without crashing.

    On advise from our provider, I checked the make sure the computer was not entering sleep or shutting off the hard drives. I also checked the priority of the service in task manager and set this to high or real time. Both didn't help the problem.

    Has anyone else noticed this problem or found any kind of a solution? I would prefer to use the 3CX softphone if at all possible but need a stable application.

    Cheers, Shane
     
  2. mylove4life

    mylove4life New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 10 systems running and dont see that happening.
     
  3. shane_robinson

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you running windows 7 64 bit? What OS is your 3CX server running on? We are using SBS2011.

    Cheers, Shane
     
  4. active5

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had no issues with the 3CX softphone on Windows 7, 64 bit.

    However, if this is happening on all 15 workstations you could have a network issue.
    Wiring, the switch, server, server nic, etc.

    I would pick one workstation as the guinea pig, run wireshark on that machine and see what's going on before the application hangs. You should run the 3CX server logging level in verbose and check the server logs after that workstation hangs. This will be a good starting point.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    SBS is a very poor choice for the server, it's barely able to run itself. With that said, if your server has enough power, put on a free hypervisor (VMware 5esxi) and run 3CX on a separate VM on anything from XP to Windows 7. That should suffice. If you add a separate NIC that would be terrific. The 3CX softphone is ususally rock solid and we use it extensively on all laptops w Win7 Pro 64. You also want to look into your workstation power settings to ensure that sleep/hibernation is not causing a problem.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.