3CX & SPA942 Second Line ringing

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by green_eggs, Jul 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. green_eggs

Hi all,
    Sorry, noob here so I'll do my best.
    I've just taken over an installation of 3cx with some linksys SPA942 phones.
    My problem is, when you are on a call, and another call comes in, you do not have the option to pick up the call after you have placed your current call on hold. You can pick up the other call from any other of the phones that are ringing.

In the SPA942 settings, I have added a secondary line key and tried setting it as Extension 2, or simply as a duplicate Extension 1, but both of these dont work.
    I have changed the Use Phone Status in Call Forwarding Rules on 3CX but that didn't help.
    I've also tried in 3CX, adding a Forwarding rule for the Extension I am on to divert on busy to the ring group I am on, but that didn't seem to help either.

I've done my best to find the answer, but I cannot find a solution that will work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks!

2. sipero123

Hi,

Have you tried the switch in 3CX to change whether the extension status comes from the phone or the 3CX pbx.

Jonathan Hamon

3. xxxomxxx

same problem on a Lancom 1724 with the SPA

4. thenua

Hi green_eggs,

In the vanilla sense its fairly straight forward.

However having said that, it does depend on how the SPA942s are currently configured and they could be anything but "vanilla" !

Let me give you the simplest scenario for the SPA operating on 3CX ...

• Line Key 1 is set to Ext 1
      Line Key 2 is also set to Ext 1

(Line Keys are aligned to the 4 lights down the right hand side.)

• Next, setup "Ext 1" to register with the 3CX.

Once successful, you should have the top two lights on the SPA942 turn green. The bottom two lights (aligning to Line Key 3 and Line Key 4) should be off on a brand new phone that hasn't yet been configured in any other way.