3CX to analogue fax (in the UK)

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Fatboy40, Aug 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    The business I work for (in the UK) is going to be setting up 3CX (in four to six weeks), but I'm not 100% certain of how to present an analogue line from it for a fax machine.

    Can someone please reccomend what sort of hardware I'll need to present a 3CX line as a standard UK analogue line, preferably something I could buy from http://www.voipon.co.uk as I expect that I'll be getting everythign from here.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would this do the trick ?...

    http://www.voipon.co.uk/grandstream-handytone-286-p-146.html
     
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,837
    Likes Received:
    297
    Getting an analogue fax machine to "play well" with VoIP is always tricky and can involve a lot of trial and error.. Some VoIP providers support it better than others. A search through the forums you will come across some of the problems encountered. If you are going to register an ATA directly with a provider be sure the support T.38, even then it can come down to the make and model of your fax machine.
     
  4. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh :(

    Sounds like this could be the fly in the ointment ?.

    One fax machine would be a modern HP all in one laser printer, and the other a multi function Ricoh copier. So it's not just a case of hooking an analogue adapter up to the 3CX system, I have to be sure that the fax call can be correctly passed over the provider SIP trunk ?.
     
  5. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is getting a fax device to work correctly a hardware, software, or SIP trunk issue ?.

    Not successfully adding fax devices to the 3CX could be the thing that stops us from going with it, but would this be an issue with all VoIP software PBX's ?.
     
  6. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, it looks like none of the providers in the UK can offer T.38 until British Telecom in the UK add it to their IP platform, so it's a case of having to use an ordinary PSTN line for our two faxes :(
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,837
    Likes Received:
    297
    Unfortunately , the weakest link in the chain will cause fax over VoIP to fail. This site gives a good explanation of some of the problems you can expect to encounter... http://www.soft-switch.org/foip.html

    As time goes on, if there is still a big demand for fax, and as more people convert to VoIP, I'm sure that more reliable solutions will present themselves.
     
  8. zman574

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had lots of issues with fax and 3cx in the us and could not seam to get it to work not to say that you can't do it but I finally made the decsion to go to ring central I am not sure if they support the UK but that was the most affordable soulution that I could find to do the job and do it easily.

    http://www.ringcentral.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. RichardCrabb1

    RichardCrabb1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Voip-unlimited (in the UK) do have an option for T.38 fax. I have used Voip-Unlimited for a while now and find them really good. Helpful with support as well. For terminating an analogue line you can use a Linksys 3102 or 2102. 3102 supports 1 extension and 1 analogue exchange line (3CX only support one line type at a time), and the Linksys 2102 supports 2 extension lines. On the 3CX web site there are instructions for setting up a 3102 for Fax termination.

    Kind regards
    Richard Crabb
    http://www.dorsetphonesystems.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.