3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working [SOLVED]

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by brianlgrimm, Feb 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I connected a Patton 4960 T1 to 3CX and a CenturyLink T1 PRI. I used the provisioning template within 3CX, and it registered. Outbound calls work perfectly, but all incoming calls fail. I can't figure out what's happening.

    I did this a few years back at a different location, and it worked without issue.

    Tried a few different firmware 6.x versions without any difference.

    Anyone have any ideas?



    Provisioning Template:


    #########################################################
    #
    # For SN-4950/4960/4980/4990 1-port T1
    # Supported firmware versions R6.x
    #
    # Author: Kevin Attard Compagno
    # Contact: kevin@3cx.com
    #
    #########################################################
    #
    # Notes:
    # No Overlap-Dialing in the US
    #
    #########################################################

    webserver port 80 language en

    system

    ic voice 0
    pcm law-select uLaw

    system
    clock-source 1 e1t1 0 0

    profile ppp default


    profile call-progress-tone defaultDialtone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 1000 350 -13 440 -13

    profile call-progress-tone defaultAlertingtone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 1000 440 -19 480 -19
    pause 2 3000

    profile call-progress-tone defaultBusytone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 500 480 -24 620 -24
    pause 2 500

    profile call-progress-tone defaultReleasetone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 250 480 -24 620 -24
    pause 2 250

    profile call-progress-tone defaultCongestiontone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 250 480 -24 620 -24
    pause 2 250


    profile tone-set default

    profile voip default
    codec 1 g711alaw64k rx-length 20 tx-length 20
    codec 2 g711ulaw64k rx-length 20 tx-length 20
    codec 3 g729 rx-length 20 tx-length 20
    fax transmission 1 relay t38-udp
    modem transmission 1 bypass g711alaw64k rx-length 20 tx-length 20

    profile pstn default

    profile sip default

    profile aaa default
    method 1 local
    method 2 none

    context ip router

    interface IF_IP_WAN
    ipaddress dhcp
    tcp adjust-mss rx mtu
    tcp adjust-mss tx mtu

    interface IF_IP_LAN
    ipaddress 10.20.8.5 255.255.255.0
    tcp adjust-mss rx mtu
    tcp adjust-mss tx mtu

    context cs switch

    mapping-table calling-pi to calling-e164 MAP_REMOVE_BLANK_CALLERID
    map restricted to ""

    mapping-table calling-e164 to calling-e164 MAP_LEADING_ZERO

    map (.%)-(.%)-(.%)-(.%)-(.%) to \1\2\3\4\5
    map (.%)-(.%)-(.%)-(.%) to \1\2\3\4
    map (.%)-(.%)-(.%) to \1\2\3
    map (.%)-(.%) to \1\2


    mapping-table calling-e164 to calling-name MAP_CID_TO_CNAME
    map (.%) to \1

    complex-function MAPPING_INCOMING_CALLS
    execute 1 MAP_REMOVE_BLANK_CALLERID
    execute 2 MAP_LEADING_ZERO


    mapping-table calling-e164 to calling-e164 SET_CNPN
    map 0(.%) to \1

    mapping-table calling-type-of-number to calling-type-of-number TYPE
    map default to national

    mapping-table calling-numbering-plan to calling-numbering-plan PLAN
    map default to isdn-telephony

    complex-function OUTBOUND
    execute 1 PLAN
    execute 2 SET_CNPN
    execute 3 TYPE

    routing-table called-e164 RT_ISDN_TO_SIP_0
    route default dest-interface IF_SIP_0 MAPPING_INCOMING_CALLS

    routing-table called-e164 RT_SIP_TO_ISDN_0
    route default dest-interface IF_ISDN_0 OUTBOUND

    interface isdn IF_ISDN_0
    route call dest-table RT_ISDN_TO_SIP_0
    call-reroute emit
    diversion emit
    user-side-ringback-tone
    caller-name

    interface sip IF_SIP_0
    bind context sip-gateway GW_SIP_0

    early-connect

    early-disconnect
    route call dest-table RT_SIP_TO_ISDN_0
    remote 10.20.8.2 5060
    call-reroute accept
    trust remote
    address-translation outgoing-call request-uri user-part fix 10000 host-part to-header target-param none
    address-translation incoming-call called-e164 request-uri

    context cs switch
    no shutdown

    authentication-service AS_ALL_LINES
    realm 1 3CXPhoneSystem
    username 10000 password xrt49xw

    location-service LS_10000
    domain 1 10.20.8.2

    identity-group default
    authentication outbound
    authenticate 1 authentication-service AS_ALL_LINES username 10000

    identity 10000
    authentication outbound
    authenticate 1 authentication-service AS_ALL_LINES

    registration outbound
    registrar 10.20.8.2 5060
    lifetime 300
    register auto

    context sip-gateway GW_SIP_0
    interface LAN
    bind interface IF_IP_LAN context router port 5060

    context sip-gateway GW_SIP_0
    bind location-service LS_10000
    no shutdown

    port ethernet 0 0
    medium auto
    encapsulation ip
    bind interface IF_IP_WAN router
    no shutdown

    port ethernet 0 1
    medium auto
    encapsulation ip
    bind interface IF_IP_LAN router
    no shutdown

    port e1t1 0 0
    port-type t1
    clock auto
    linecode b8zs
    framing esf
    encapsulation q921

    q921
    uni-side auto
    encapsulation q931

    q931

    protocol ni2

    uni-side user
    bchan-number-order ascending
    encapsulation cc-isdn
    bind interface IF_ISDN_0 switch

    port e1t1 0 0
    no shutdown





    DEBUG INFO from Patton:


    10.20.8.5#04:46:00 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] << Message: primitive=64
    04:46:00 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] Added endpoint IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0
    04:46:00 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] NEW CALL. Allocated Endpoint IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0
    04:46:00 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] << [080005]
    SETUP (NI2 User)
    [04038090A2]
    Bearer capability : speech - CCITT
    circuit mode - 64kBit/s - G.711 U-law
    [1803A98301]
    Channel id : UNKNOWN (0xE3FC60) - exclusive
    other interface - is not d-channel - CCITT - UNKNOWN CHANNEL TYPE (0x140E6A0)
    [1C1D9F8B0100A117020101020100800F4345444152205241504944532C4941]
    Facility : Invoke : invokeid: 00000001
    global operation
    invoke {
    present = 1
    local = 0
    argumentnamePresentationAllowedSimple = 'CEDAR RAPIDS,IA'
    }
    [6C0C218033313935353136373738]
    Calling party number : 3195516778
    national number - E.164 numbering plan
    presentation allowed - user provided not screened
    [7005C133373639]
    Called party number : 3769
    subscriber number - E.164 numbering plan

    04:46:00 IDP > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] Change dtmf detection to 'disabled'
    04:46:00 IDP > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] Acquired b-Channel 1 (Datapath termination 10000001)
    04:46:00 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] CNIP << CallingName Invoke
    04:46:00 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] CNIP >> Name Indication(CEDAR RAPIDS,IA,Presentation allowed)
    04:46:00 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] State: NULL, Event: TERMINAL SETUP IND
    04:46:00 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] Set state to CALL PRESENT
    04:46:00 IDP > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] Change datapath direction to Send/Receive.
    04:46:00 IERR > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] DIALING TO FAILED
    04:46:00 IERR > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] ERROR. ABORTING CALL.
    04:46:00 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] State: CALL PRESENT, Event: ERROR
    04:46:00 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] Set state to NULL
    04:46:00 IDP > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] Change datapath direction to Inactive.
    04:46:00 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] CLEARING CALL IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0
    04:46:00 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] Removed endpoint IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0
    04:46:00 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0] >> [08005A]
    RELEASE COMPLETE (NI2 User)
    [0802859B]
    Cause : destination out of order
    private network serving remote user - CCITT - Q.931

    04:46:00 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] Destroying finished calls.
    04:46:00 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] Destroyed endpoint IF_ISDN_0-0140e6a0
     
  2. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    What do you see on the 3CX verbose log when calling in? Better yet, install wireshark on the server, begin capture, call in, filter for SIP and look for an invite. This will tell you if the Patton tries to reach 3CX and what did format is sending. Your issue is usually an incorrect entering of the did in the 3CX inbound rules. Look at the line provisioning spec sheet from your PRI provider and set the rulesd accordingly ( usually the last 4 of the did)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    I never see anything in the 3CX Logs, and with Wireshark on the server, I never even see the gateway try to connect to 3CX. It never even makes contact with 3CX - the calls are being dropped in the Patton. It's like the provisioning template didn't configure call routing or something.

    But again, outbound calls work perfectly.
     
  4. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Stupid question sorry... Is Windows Firewall turned off? Do you have any antivirus/firewall app on the server?
    Obviously the Patton registers with 3CX to make OB calls.
    Dis you use the SN4960 single - T1 template?
    Have you changed ANYTHING in the default settings of the template?
    We have many 4960,40.70 on Centurylink and never had an issue.

    Upgrade the FW, Factory reset it, delete PSTN device in 3CX and recreate the Patton CFG, re-import. If you cannot see anything in Wireshark, something is funny. Lastly, email your running config to Patton, Attention Danny at support@patton.com and they can look at it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Firewall is off, and I do see registration information and outbound call information in Wireshark. Just the inbound never make it to the server.

    I used the SN4960 T1 template unaltered. I tried multiple firmwares and am currently on the latest version, SW 6.5.

    I'll factory reset it now, then create a new profile, and let you know if anything changes. It is weird because I've used this gateway before (with 3CX v10 and Paetec) and it was just plug and play. Its just really bizarre.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. tsukraw

    tsukraw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Ok lets take a look at the Patton unit itself.
    Do you have putty?
    If so telnet to the IP of the Patton unit.
    Once logged in run the following command.
    =======================================
    enable
    debug context sip-gateway transport
    debug context sip-gateway error
    debug call-control
    debug call-router
    debug ccisdn signaling
    =======================================

    Turn on loggin in putty and output to a log file...

    Once you got the above debuging running try making a call in.

    Once the test call is done go back to putty and enter "no debug all" that will stop the debug process to bring cpu load back down on the box.

    Either post the output log to this form or email it to me. I PM you my email address.
    From that we should be able to fairly easy tell if the call is coming in or if there is something else going on.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Here is the output:
    10.20.8.5#debug context sip-gateway transport
    10.20.8.5#debug context sip-gateway error
    10.20.8.5#debug call-control
    10.20.8.5#debug call-router
    10.20.8.5#debug ccisdn signaling
    10.20.8.5#21:46:53 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] << Message: primitive=64
    21:46:53 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] Added endpoint IF_ISDN_0-00eee598
    21:46:53 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] NEW CALL. Allocated Endpoint IF_ISDN_0-00eee598
    21:46:53 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-00eee598] << [080005]
    SETUP (NI2 User)
    [04038090A2]
    Bearer capability : speech - CCITT
    circuit mode - 64kBit/s - G.711 U-law
    [1803A98301]
    Channel id : UNKNOWN (0xC229E0) - exclusive
    other interface - is not d-channel - CCITT - UNKNOWN CHANNEL TYPE (0xEEE598)
    [1C1D9F8B0100A117020101020100800F4345444152205241504944532C4941]
    Facility : Invoke : invokeid: 00000001
    global operation
    invoke {
    present = 1
    local = 0
    argumentnamePresentationAllowedSimple = 'CEDAR RAPIDS,IA'
    }
    [6C0C218033313935353136373738]
    Calling party number : 3195516778
    national number - E.164 numbering plan
    presentation allowed - user provided not screened
    [70058031353932]
    Called party number : 1592
    unknown number - unknown numbering plan

    21:46:53 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-00eee598] CNIP << CallingName Invoke
    21:46:53 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-00eee598] CNIP >> Name Indication(CEDAR RAPIDS,IA,Presentation allowed)
    21:46:53 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-00eee598] State: NULL, Event: TERMINAL SETUP IND
    21:46:53 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-00eee598] Set state to CALL PRESENT
    21:46:53 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-00eee598] State: CALL PRESENT, Event: ERROR
    21:46:53 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-00eee598] Set state to NULL
    21:46:53 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] CLEARING CALL IF_ISDN_0-00eee598
    21:46:53 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] Removed endpoint IF_ISDN_0-00eee598
    21:46:53 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-00eee598] >> [08005A]
    RELEASE COMPLETE (NI2 User)
    [0802859B]
    Cause : destination out of order
    private network serving remote user - CCITT - Q.931

    21:46:53 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] Destroying finished calls.
    21:46:53 ICC > [IF_ISDN_0] Destroyed endpoint IF_ISDN_0-00eee598


    I tried a factory reset. I even did a quick fresh install of V12 on my laptop, configured for the Patton, and got the same results.

    I also attempted calls from the CLI. I can call out , and I can call back into my system. It's like it just doesn't know what to do with incoming calls.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  8. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    A couple of things -
    1. Make sure that you have filled out the e164 settings in 3CX
    2. On the inbound rules, if you are using a literal number, put an "*" (asterisk) at the front.

    I had a provider that shifted to using the e164 convention last week. On a couple of my earlier installs, I input the fully qualified dial string of the DID to look for (1-xxx-xxx-xxxx) which worked fine until they converted. The conversion modified the incoming DID by putting a "+" sign at the front of all the incoming numbers and the system would ignore them as the number did not meet the rule requirements I had set. Once I changed the rule for the DID to read *-xxx-xxx-xxxx all was well.

    I could make outbound calls throughout the period just fine, just could not get any inbound to function until the wildcard started to accommodate the "+".

    Charles (Sigma1) also suggested the same solution above when he suggested using the last 4 digits associated to a DID. This too would have required the use of a "*" to work, but I did not see if you had tried that so thought I would amplify on it given my most recent issue involving a similar set of symptoms.
     
  9. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    lbennett,

    Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately, calls never even make it from the Patton to 3CX. They die in the Patton
     
  10. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Ineblett:

    What I find completely odd is that he reported running a wireshark right off the server and not getting an invite from the 4960 at all. Indeed *+last 4 digits is the easiest setup s long as you never run into overlapping numbers. I would pay very close attention to any oddity in the T1 provisioning from your carrier. I also know that you will not likely receive inbound caller ID from a Verizon Wireless caller... seems common with Centurylink and likely due to a format mismatch NANP v. e164
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Lastly, try calling Centurylink and tell them that your device does not support e164 (yeah.. right) and ask them to switch you to NANP caller ID presentation and try if that solves it. If it does, please let us know. If not, email Patton as mentioned earlier, they can definitely figure out the issue.

    Patton Electronics Co. | http://www.patton.com
    7622 Rickenbacker Drive, Gaithersburg, MD 20879, USA
    tel: +1 301-975-1007 | fax: +1 301-869-9293

    support@patton.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    I'm going to call Centurylink and Patton first thing Monday morning.

    I turned on more CCISDN debugging and here is some of the more interesting output:

    1. Is it normal for the channel to be unknown type?

    SETUP (NI2 User)
    [04038090A2]
    Bearer capability : speech - CCITT
    circuit mode - 64kBit/s - G.711 U-law
    [1803A98301]
    Channel id : UNKNOWN (0xC30C80) - exclusive
    other interface - is not d-channel - CCITT - UNKNOWN CHANNEL TYPE (0x1527730)

    [1C1D9F8B0100A117020101020100800F4345444152205241504944532C4941]
    Facility : Invoke : invokeid: 00000001
    global operation
    invoke {

    2. It fails at dialing, but looks like its trying to dial nothing

    [70058031353932]
    Called party number : 1592
    unknown number - unknown numbering plan

    18:02:37 IDP > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] Change dtmf detection to 'disabled'
    18:02:37 IDP > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] Acquired b-Channel 1 (Datapath termination 10000001)
    18:02:37 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] CNIP << CallingName Invoke
    18:02:37 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] CNIP >> Name Indication(CEDAR RAPIDS,IA,Presentation allowed)
    18:02:37 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] State: NULL, Event: TERMINAL SETUP IND
    18:02:37 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] Set state to CALL PRESENT
    18:02:37 IDP > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] Change datapath direction to Send/Receive.
    18:02:37 IERR > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] DIALING TO FAILED
    18:02:37 IERR > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] ERROR. ABORTING CALL.

    18:02:37 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] State: CALL PRESENT, Event: ERROR
    18:02:37 ICC > [EP IF_ISDN_0-01527730] Set state to NULL

    Again, it never even attempts to contact the phone system. Wireshark shows no contact during incoming calls.

    Service information:
    It's connected to an Adtran 924e, and it's using Centurylink's Core Connect Enterprise services. I think they also refer to it as Integrated Access. Apparently there are only 12 channels, so maybe there is something funky with the PRI configuration. But its weird that outbound calls work perfectly.

    Oh well. Guess it'll have to wait until Monday.

    Thank to everybody for their advice.
     
  13. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    304
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Are you certain that you have the T1 settings correct for the type of switch/region, that you are connecting to?

    Usually the term CCITT is used when dealing with a device in Europe.

    Be sure that you and the CO switch are set to use the same channel for the D channel (Usually Ch 24)

    Besides that, there may be other settings that have to match that particular switch, ie...GTD-5, DMS-100 or ?
     
  14. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Leejor, he has the t1 configured right based on the config above

    port e1t1 0 0
    port-type t1
    clock auto
    linecode b8zs
    framing esf
    encapsulation q921
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    I talked to Centurylink, and they say its just a generic PRI (whatever that means) and that the calls are going into my system (the Patton) and getting rejected as "Destination not found".

    I have a ticket open with Patton, so I will work that avenue next.

    -Brian
     
  16. brianlgrimm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working

    Patton got nowhere, so I called Centurylink back and finally found someone that would walk through the settings on the Adtran. After a few seconds, she noticed that the signaling protocol was set to DMS instead of NI2, as they normally are. The moment she switched it, calls starting coming in.

    So its fixed. That was fun.
     
  17. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working [SOLVE

    Brian:

    Glad it worked for you. As I recall DMS is an obsolete, hardly ever used Nortel signaling protocol...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    304
    Re: 3CX V12 and Patton 4960 T1 - incoming not working [SOLVE

    It all depends on the providers originating switch type, and how they choose to option the trunks. I believe that there are/were some advantages if it is a DMS-100/200 to a Meridian PBX.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.