3CX VoIP Phone - internal & external use

Discussion in 'Windows' started by netarch, May 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. netarch

Hi all,

I'm new to 3CX Phone System and so far, I have configured 3 extensions using 3CX VoIP Phones (ver 3.1.6288.0) on 3 separate computers. I'm running the latest version of 3CX Phone System, v7.1.7139.0. Calling/receiving between extensions internally is OK. I now wish to test the 3CX VoIP Phone from outside the network i.e. as an external extension.

Questions:
    1. do I need to configure the 3CX tunnel in order for this external extension to work? If yes, what do I need to look for e.g. port numbers?

2. is it required to use the tunnel for all external extensions?

3, or can I just configure in the 3CX VoIP Phone's "Connection Settings" window, "I am out of the office - extern IP XXXX of PBX" ?

4. do I need to have fixed IP for my broadband connection for NAT purposes? Currently, I'm using dynamic IP connection to my ISP. If I cannot obtain fixed IP address in the near future, can the external extension still work over a dynamic IP address?

5. can the 3CX VoIP Phone in the notebook be configured with 2 instances i.e. one instance each for an internal and an external extension, so that when in the office, I can use the internal extension and when outside, use the external extension ? Otherwise, do I just configure as in #3 above?

Thanks so much in advance. :mrgreen:

ian

2. Vali_3CX

Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

Hi, Ian