3CX Window Clients display 'NOT CONNECTED'

Discussion in 'Windows' started by skinap, Aug 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skinap

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Our new 3CX Server (v12 with sp6; .net framework 4.5.1; Windows Update up-to-date; Windows server 2008 R2 Enterprise) had below issue twice in a week:
    All 3CX Window Clients display 'NOT CONNECTED' under 3CXPhone mode, Looks connected under CTI mode but the Queue option and Availability option are all greyed out , IP Phones were working fine. Checked '3CXPhone Clients' and 'Server Event Log' attribute, the windows clients are all registered in the server. We tried to recycle Application Pool or restart IIS service, did not have any luck. Then restarted the 3CX PhoneSystem service which rectify the issue. There is no obvious error message from window application log and system log, Server Event Log and Server Activity Log all look normal. Since We are using the server for a contact centre environment, we could not have enough time to test which particular service cause this issue by interrupting the operations, and the issue really cause trouble because we need the Windows Client to trigger screen pop out for particular software. Please advise.
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    I know that on the Android version, "Not Connected" refers to the Presence information, and not registration. The cause has usually been that port 5000 (http), or 5001 (https) is not accessible by the set (port forwarding/firewall settings). I have to assume that the windows version is similar.
    Could this have something to do with your issue?
     
  3. skinap

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot for the reply, this issue has happened 3 time in last month, There is no firewall setting against the access to 3cx server on PCs, Proxy exception has also been added. Also checked firewall setting, especially for port 5000 and 5001 of 3CX Server. Once restart 3CX phonesystem service, client will be reconnected. I would keep monitoring the issue, any if we have any other clue, please advise ;)
     
  4. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    63
    99% of the times that this occurs, the reason is either AntiVirus software on the machine running the PBX and/or the machine running the 3CX Phone client. I would suggest uninstalling this kind on software on both machines (not disable).

    Also though what leejor said is correct, on the 3CX Phone for Windows the error message would be something like "Unable to connect to 3cx Web API...." so please clarify the exact message you are seeing.
    Another thing, are the extensions that are having this issue remote extensions, local, via VPN, on different subnets?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.