3CXPhone presence broken w/ 3CX provision, OK manual config

Discussion in 'iOS' started by hccj, May 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hccj

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried to provision some 3CXPhone clients as extensions on the local LAN, and am having a problem with them registering for Presence when on our LAN network.

    Here's the situation, w/ 3CX Phone:

    When on LAN / In Office set: Phone works > "On Hook"; Presence "Not Connected"
    When on LAN / Out of Office set: Phone works > "On Hook"; Presence "Available"
    When connecting remotely: Phone works > "On Hook"; Presence "Available"

    The weird thing is that when I delete this configuration on 3CXPhone and enter everything manually by hand. Everything works ok!
    It appears 3CXPhone doesn't even try to make an attempt to connect when on LAN/"In Office"

    I'm thinking this may be a possible bug? My workaround is to do all config by hand; does anybody have any suggestions?

    FWIW, I have tried modifying the configuration here and there, and re-connecting - but at the moment, the only way to get it working again is to delete the entire entry on 3cxphone, and input manually, then reconnect.

    I should mention that the way I am provisioning the 3CXPhone is having the 3CXPhone turned on and app open, goto 3CX admin > Phones > [click on entry of corresponding 3CXPhone] > Click setup as New Extension at top; following this, 3CXPhone would automatically configure.

    One strange thing that I do get from the auto configuration is that the 3CX admin console says: "An exception occurred EditExtension Error: The remote certificate is invalid according to the validation procedure."; however the 3CXPhone is otherwise configure and working for calls.
     
  2. hccj

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CXPhone presence broken w/ 3CX provision, OK manual con

    Update:

    Did a rollback on a previous backup of the server running 3CX.

    Now even a manually configured 3CXPhone will not register w/ Presence locally on the LAN. Choosing "Out of office" works though.

    Ideas?
     
  3. Nick_M

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CXPhone presence broken w/ 3CX provision, OK manual con

    I have the same issue:

    3CX phone for Local LAN and Remote Access PC/Mac work fine - all presence info shown in both modes.

    3CX for iPhone shows presence when in "out of office" mode but not when in "in office" mode.

    I have provisioned the iPhonse from the welcome mail with a new install of 3CX iPhone 12.

    Sounds like a setup bug somewhere...if anyone has resolved this please advise
     
  4. Snomon

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: 3CXPhone presence broken w/ 3CX provision, OK manual con

    My biggest lesson learned with deploying 3CX 12.5b2 behind a firewall is that the iPhone clients still demand the HTTPs port to be at 443. When I installed 12.5b2 and changed the default 80/443 ports to 5000/https 5001 (like pre 12.5 3CX installs) on a Win2k8 box, my internal/external windows and android clients connected fine. But when my iPhones connected either in or out of office, presence didn't work. As soon as I tweaked IIS to also bind port 443 to the 3CX site, everything magically worked. Also all the port forwards to same said ports must be opened.

    Update 12/13/14: Just installed 12.5RC. I noticed that that IIS lost it's 443 binding to 3CX site. My offsite iPhone app still works to get presence now. I'm happy!
     
  5. robxbl69

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: 3CXPhone presence broken w/ 3CX provision, OK manual con

    Since upgrading to 12.5 I can't get presence on iOS 3CX V12 to work when out of office. I have two remote extensions at the same location running 3CX phone for Windows and presence, contacts etc all works fine so is not a forwarding or firewall issue at the office.

    How does iOS 3CX know which ports to connect to and if to use http or https?
     
  6. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    Re: 3CXPhone presence broken w/ 3CX provision, OK manual con

    Hi,

    Please read this answer from Vali_3CX found in another post
    http://www.3cx.com/forums/missing-call-info-recordings-voicemails-37701-s15.html#p168965

    Hope this answer your question.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. robxbl69

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: 3CXPhone presence broken w/ 3CX provision, OK manual con

    Okay thanks, I'll have a go at what he suggests. Will be later though...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.