Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Adding second port to Voip Provider

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by brigham, Aug 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brigham

Hi,

I am fairly new to the system but seem to have things moving forward smoothly. I do have one issue though that i can figure out. We have our Voip provider (babytel) configured and working for our main voice lines. But we also have a fax line setup with them with it's own SIP AuthID and password. If I add another Voip provider with the same information except the new line and authentication info it doesn't seem to connect. The Activity Log actually shows Registraiton succeeded, but the Ports/Trunks Status shows it as Not Registered.

So my question is, if i have the Voip Provider setup twice essentially will this create issues. I am thinking because the SIP address and port and configured the same for both. My thinking was can i just add another virtual extenstion under the single Voip provider gateway? When i look at DID's it talks about selecting either the gateway or the specfic ports under that gateway. This is what got me thinking i might be able to do it.

I hope this makes sense. if not let me know.

Josh

2. eagle2

eagle2 Well-Known Member

May be you need to share more details about your configuration.

Generally in 3CX there are Generic SIP trunks (without registration) and Generic SIP providers (with regsitration, i.e. username / password). Some providers allow more than 1 simultaneous call (you should set this parameter correctly).