• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Alarm system; AT&T internet - impact on VOIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

tm19

Reaction score
Newbie here...

I am looking to upgrade/replace our existing church phone system with VOIP, but I am wondering how it will work with our current setup.

We have two PSTN lines coming into the building. They drop into one closet where they connect into the old POTS lines running all over the building. An alarm system dials out through line 1, I believe. Our AT&T U-Verse for Business service comes in on line 2.

So if we dropped our existing PSTN completely, would this have any affect on our alarm system? I assume the answer would be "no" because we could route it through the VOIP gateway, but I'm not quite sure.

Also, how would this affect our internet? We recently switched from cable to AT&T, which is apparently not the same as DSL, but it still comes from their fiber network down the regular phone line. I would hate to have to go through switching our service again.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Hi
As an alarm engineer, this is an increasingly asked question, what type of monitoring does your alarm system have ?
Tim

Keep in mind that some alarm systems do not work well with VoIP, you may wish to contact your alarm provider and let them know what number they can expect your alarm contact from.

If you are using U-Verse that line should be COAX, not RJ11.

I would keep one POTS line for the ALARM and and setup an SPA-3102 and use it as an emergency line in case the VoIP went down. (And setup a rule so that 911 calls where given fail over in case one the POTS line failed, or the VOIP failed)
You can probaly eliminate the other line, if you can verify weather or not your U-verse is running on COAX or RJ11.