Allow 3rd Party CNAM lookups

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by Joe Wright, Apr 2, 2018.

Allow 3rd Party CNAM lookups 5 5 1votes
5/5, 1 vote

Tags:
  1. Joe Wright

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    We get some CNAM data from our SIP trunking provider but not as much as our clients would like. It would be beneficial to be able to query a 3rd party CNAM service such as https://www.opencnam.com/.

    Another option would be to allow setting the incoming Caller ID from a Call Flow Designer app and let developers handle their own integration. Currently, it does not appear that CFD can change the inbound Caller ID.
     
  2. voiptoys

    voiptoys Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    93
    You cannot change the inbound caller ID with either the CFD or the Call Control API as far as I know.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    85
    Opencnam will be supported soon... We'll be adding a server side CRM template for it shortly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Joe Wright

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just found the CRM integration guide here:

    https://www.3cx.com/docs/crm-integration/

    And it works great. Attached is a slightly simplified version of the one built in the guide above. All you need to do is add your OpenCNAM Account SID and Auth Token to the CRM Integration's settings.

    The file needs to go here:
    • On Windows : C:\ProgramData\3CX\Instance1\Data\Http\Templates\crm
    • On Linux: /var/lib/3cxpbx/Instance1/Data/Http/Templates/crm
    And then restart the 3CX Management Console service.

    One issue we found when creating a new CRM Integration is that the Country key needs to be set in the main Crm element like this:

    <Crm Country="US" Name="OpenCNAM" Version="1">

    Without this key, which is blank by default in the CRM Integration Editor, 3CX was not able to load the custom integration.

    The last thing to note is that these lookups get added to the company address book and you are not able to delete them. We have some in there from testing and would like to get them cleaned up. Is there an option to not have these lookups get added as phonebook entries?

    Thanks.

    Joe Wright
    Noventech, Inc.
    https://noventech.com
     

    Attached Files:

  5. LR2

    LR2

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there an estimated release date for the official server side opencnam template?
     
  6. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    85
    It will be included in the upcoming Update 5.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. LR2

    LR2

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool. Also, what is it that Joe is talking about, with not being able to delete the contacts that are generated by the crm template?

    Also, what happens if you have more than one crm template in use. (i.g., if we use Zoho, but only need to run cnam if Zoho doesn't have an entry?)
     
  8. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    85
    The CRM template inserts the contacts found into 3CX Contacts. Until Update 4, there was no way to delete all of them at once, you had to go one by one and delete them. In Update 5 we will include a "Delete CRM Contacts" button in the 3CX Contacts page, and when you click on it, all the contacts added by the CRM templates will be deleted. In case you were testing and want to clean up, this is useful.

    You can only configure 1 template at a time. Please submit another idea to get this feature implemented in the future.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...