Allow Mac client users to choose keyboard shortcut for app focus

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by keithcurtis, Mar 9, 2016.

Allow Mac client users to choose keyboard shortcut for app focus 5 5 6votes
5/5, 6 votes

  1. keithcurtis

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    The keyboard shortcut (Command-3) for giving focus to 3CX is currently hardcoded into the app. This is system-wide, meaning that other programs which use that keyboard command lose that functionality. I can't think of any other program which steals a keyboard command at the system level without the ability for the user to re-assign. Not even Apple does this, and they wrote the OS.

    It can't be difficult to add this option. Please consider it.

    Thank you.
     
    ESudan likes this.
  2. cheathcott

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to voice my disappointment with this as well. As some one who uses and switches between multiple desktops constantly, the inability to change this keyboard command makes this application virtually unusable to me. I can't have the application running when I'm working, which defeats the whole purpose of having the software. Yes, I could remap my keyboard commands for switching desktops, but I've been using those shortcuts for about a decade - certainly would be nice to change the 3CX commands.
     
  3. keithcurtis

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just bumping this in case anybody is reading it. This continues to be a problem.

    On the Macintosh Command-3 is used by many programs:

    In the Finder, it changes to column view
    In Photoshop, it previews the second color channel
    In Illustrator, it Hides an object.

    Although in some cases, these commands can be changed, they are thematically linked. Command-2,3,4,and 5 in Photoshop cycles through all the channels. In the Finder, Command 1, 2, 3, and 4 cycles through all the views. Changing one of these would require changing a whole suite of related keys. And for those of us who work on multiple computers (some of which do not have 3CX installed), requires shifting between key sets constantly.

    This really is a problem that needs to be addressed.
     
    ESudan likes this.
  4. MPH

    MPH

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bumping this thread. Disappointing that no-one from 3CX has addressed this. I use inDesign and illustrator constant and Command+3 is the Hide command, used all the time. I have to only load 3CX when I need to make a phone call, which isn't useful when people need to call me.

    Please address this!

    At least let us change the hotkey. Poor programming...
     
    ESudan likes this.
  5. Gregec

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Please do this, we have a lot of Mac users that complain because of this.
     
    ESudan likes this.
  6. keithcurtis

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Bumping this thread again. Any way to flag a dev for a response? It's been a year since this was first posted and there have been a host of builds since then.
     
    ESudan likes this.
  7. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    153
    HI Guys - we will do something about this. Confirmed. There will be the ability to change the shortcut to something else.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    69
    Just to add a note here:

    The purpose of this shortcut is not "to give focus to 3CX", but to dial a selected text from any application (no matter is TextEdit, TextWrangler, Safari, Chrome or Finder); for instance, if you select right here *777 and you press Cmd+3, the 3CX client will come on top and will call *777.

    Is a very old feature of the 3CX client, being implemented almost five years ago (October 2012) on OS Mountain Lion.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. keithcurtis

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks for the info and the change! I wondered why it would try to dial whenever I switched to it. Still, the ability to change it is most welcome.