Anyone have phones successfully working Remotely?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by dbarney, Aug 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dbarney

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All,

    Currently I am using a series of Polycom phones, but whether it be Trixbox, or 3CX, I have been unable to get them to connect to voip solutions reliably outside of the office.

    That being said, Does anyone have any suggestions for easy to use, nice phones that work well remotely with 3CX? A client wants a demo and I cant give it to them until I can get this to work.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    223
    They would be firewall or networking issues.

    With 3CX, you can use the tunnel to minimize firewall, NAT and networking issues.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. galal202

    galal202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried Nokia E61 from public wifi
    but I failed in first try to use other phones without vpn
     
  4. galal202

    galal202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Nick Galea
    I Tried to use 3CX tunnel and failed a lot of times
    ports 5060:5069, 9000 :9015 and 5080-5090 routed to the server
    using stun working but tunnel does not work
    do you know a tip for this?
     
  5. tazz

    tazz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had luck with the Grandstream GXP 2000 & BT 101.
     
  6. galal202

    galal202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    We need Hardphones works without pc in home or small office
    I tried Nokia E61 but we need to use IP Phones
    I think it's matter of nat,ports or stun settings
     
  7. jparisi

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard that Polycom's do not work well with NAT.

    That said, we, like Matt, use site to site VPNs to eliminate the issue.
     
  8. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    223
    Both the tunnel and even 'normal' UDP work fine for remote extensions. Dbarney/Agalal - you would benefit from a commercial product with a commercial support package. This type of support can not be given online for free. However, i can assure you that there are thousands of installations working just fine with remote extensions. Its one of the key selling points of 3CX or indeed any VOIP PBX.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. dbarney

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are considering the purchase of 3CX, but to do that without knowing we can get some phones working remotely, it would be a waste of our money.

    Beyond this, we use Sonicwall's at our clients and ISA in our office. I hear claims that ISA is not supported, which is a huge issue for us.
     
  10. galal202

    galal202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Dbarney,
    I tried all windows ip pbx and I found 3cx is the best
    you can find what you need to know
    http://www.3cx.com/support/
    also I tried some devices does not listed and it works very fine like planet vip260
     
  11. galal202

    galal202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Dbarney,
    also I have rmote all devices using vpn router
    beside I used nokia e61 with out vpn
    so I think any device solve the nat will work remotely
    so it's not 3cx it's the device you will use
     
  12. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm agree with Galal202 that 3CX is the best IPPBX based on windows
     
  13. jparisi

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0

    We have two remote sites set up with Sonicwalls and site-to-site VPNs working with no problems at all using Linksys SPA962 phones. I've also tested with a Linksys IP330 wireless phone and a few different softphones with no problems.

    The VPN eliminates NAT which is where most if not all the issues with remote extensions lie. 3CX's voip client uses a tunnel to duplicate a VPN. I have not played with this much as we have hardware VPNs set up but I could see it being needed if you travel and do not have the ability to create a hardware VPN.

    ISA is a bit tricky but you should be able to set up a IPsec VPN to the Sonicwalls. This article refers to a Dlink but it should help: http://www.isaserver.org/articles/2004isadlink.html
     
  14. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    I compeletely agree with Jparisi,Matt and Galal202
    it's matter of nat which could be solved by vpn,tunnel,real ip and a lot of solutions
    3CX is the best and growing up good and rapid
     
  15. danfoster

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having bought the commercial version earlier this week and speaking to Zen (uk reseller), they wouldn't really help with this problem unless we had a VPN from the remote sites. Seems to defeat the object of the software if you need a VPN in place as it reduces the flexibility substantially.

    One way or another I cannot get extensions at remote locations to work at all when connecting back to the 3CX server in our datacentre.
     
  16. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Danfoster
    the problem in your vpn
    because when you use vpn ,settings to local lan like the other vpn side
    I installed 3CX several times with vpn no problem at all
    my be you have nat or firewall issues
    my advice fresh 3cx installed on fresh windows and devices reseted to factory defaults before config
    you will finf every thing ok
     
  17. danfoster

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep I know if we use VPN it will be as if the remote device is at the other side, I run an ISP so the network concepts make sense to me :)

    The server is on a public IP and my home IP (where I'm testing the remote extension from) has full firewall access to the public IP. I have also wiped all the configs and started again today, still the same problems. VoIP (quite obviously) isn't my area of expertise so I'll end up calling someone in to do this for me, it's just frustrating when one can't get things working.
     
  18. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    223
    Dan,

    You can do this with a tunnel and without VPN if you want. You can even do it without tunnel, but it depends on your netwoking and nat setup. Obviously these things take time to analyze and therefore a reseller is going to want to charge for the support. But its beyond doubt that 3Cx can support external extensions :)

    Simplest to start is with the tunnel - this tunnels all traffic over TCP over a single port.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. dbarney

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    First setting up a VPN is not a fix, it is a workaround. Next, The 3CX would be behind a sonicwall. We would not be having our clients connect into our office with our ISA.

    Remote phones are a pretty big deal. I know a lot of companies are able to make these work. I was able to get a polycom to work at home on trixbox at the office, through an ISA (but I am not a linux guru and trixbox requires a certain level of linux comfort).

    Requiring a tunnel, or VPN is not great for traveling people. We should be able to grab a phone, plug it into the network, and know it was going to work. Its what I want for our office, its what our clients want for their offices.

    Im more than willing to pay for support, but no one is saying it can be done. Everyone uses tunnels or vpn's to 'fix' the issue. So im being asked to spend $150.00, for something that may not be useable without a vpn/tunnel or something. See where I would have a bit of issue with this?
     
  20. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Dbarney,
    I told you before I used Nokia E61 connected to 3cx with out tunnel or vpn
    I can make a calls like I'm in office ,recive a calls with caller id and The voice more than perfect
    so it's not 3CX it's what device you'll use
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.