Append text to inbound caller name

Discussion in 'Call Flow Designer' started by Alex8000, Jan 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alex8000

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    I have been looking for a way to append (or prepend) text to the caller name with a value as retrieved from a database query.
    Would you be able to confirm that this is indeed possible, and what the CallerID 3CX variable would be?

    Scenario:
    - Inbound caller gets connected to CFD
    - CFD queries MS SQL database with Caller ID ('123')
    - CFD stores query result value ('abc) in variable strName
    - CFD prepends variable value to CallerName (CallerName becomes 'abc %regular CallerName%')

    Many thanks!
     
  2. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    75
    Hi @Alex8000,

    Unfortunately it's not currently possible to do it. The caller name can't be changed from the CFD app. We'll be providing a solution for this in a future version, as this is a very required feature, but we don't know when this is going to be...

    Kind regards.
    Ernesto.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Alex8000 likes this.
  3. Alex8000

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ernesto,

    Many thanks for your answer.
    This is unfortunate, but good to hear that this is being worked on!

    Just to be sure that my 'broader plan' is not endangered by this, could you verify that the below does look like a valid application for CFD?

    - Inbound caller gets connected to CFD
    - CFD looks up CallerID in MSSQL CLID <> Queue table
    - CFD connects caller to specific queue based on query result

    Thanks a lot,
    Alex
     
  4. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    75
    Hi Alex,

    Yes, you can do all that with a CFD app.

    Kind regards.
    Ernesto.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Alex8000 likes this.
  5. Alex8000

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ernesto,

    That's terrific, thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.