• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Assigning Multiple Extensions on a single IP Phone + Phone Book Grouping

Status
Not open for further replies.

ptdem

Reaction score
Hello to everyone.

I am quite new to IP telephony so please bear with me. I have setup a 3CX PBX on a trial basis (ver 15.5.13103.5) for providing IP telephony services to several companies hosted on our premises; and have encountered some issues that I need to know if they are resolvable, in order to determine whether I am proceeding with a full blown 3CX deployment or if I need to be looking somewhere else for a valid solution.

Now first with the background, we are to provide IP Phone services to several subsidiary companies, each company having at least one SIP DiD assigned (currently 8 companies with 1x DiD, to be expanded to 16). Call wise each company is assigned a 4-digit number internal range (i.e Company A is assigned range 11xx, Company B is assigned range 12xx, etc).

There is a need for some users to pick-up, as well as make calls from more than one company. For example, a common receptionist/Operator for Companies A, B, C and D, must be able to pick-up incoming calls from specific external DiD assigned to those companies (i.e +35722123456, +35722345678 etc). That receptionist should also be eligible on placing external calls through Companies A, B, C, D etc (for example when the receptionist is calling back from Company B on behalf of the manager etc).

The customers’ preference is to have cheap multi-line IP based hard Phones (either 2 or 4 lines) for the receptionists, where it will be very easy for them to identify from where the call is originating (i.e Line Button 1 – Company A, Line Button 2 – Company B). This way it will also be easy for the receptionist to make an external call on behalf of a specific Company.