• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Authentication failed...beginner...

Status
Not open for further replies.

alarti

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a complete newby at this so please be patient if my questions are too basic.
I have setup FreePBX with AsteriskNow and someone recommended that I use 3CX as my softphone.

I have installed 3CX in my computer and setup the account information. At this time I am getting an "Authentication Failed" message, followed by a "Not Connected" one in the display. My guess is that this is due to incorrect credentials. I have tried several different configurations without success. One of the items is a password but as far as I can remember I haven't set one up in FreePBX (or see where to do so in the extensions section). Can someone please shed some light into what the issue might be here? What am I doing incorrectly? If you need more details I'll be happy to provide them.

Thank you in advance,

Andres

I don't think I've come across an extension set-up that didn't require a password. It might be the same as the extension number.
In the 3CX phone, click on the round button, bottom centre. Then click on Debug, bottom left. This will bring up a window that show pretty much the dialogue going on with the server and may help you figure out what settings to change.

To set up the 3cx phone for windows, you need:
Extension number
ID
Password
*This information can be found on the 3CX Management Console, select the extension, and this information is in the "Authentication" section on the general tab*
IP address of server - if external, must provide tunnel information

With that information, you can set up your 3CX Soft Phone

leejor, thank you for your feedback.
I launched the debug window and I see some errors (due to lack of connected mic mostly). Then I see an error that reads:
Not connected: Authentication failed