Auto Fax Routing not an option?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by JayIT, Oct 11, 2017.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JayIT

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was eagerly planning to switch over from an aastralink PRO 160 system over to 3CX and was verifying that all features would be supported, but then I see one that looks like it does not. Currently our company only has a single external telephone # (with multiple lines as part of a hunt group). This number is published as both our voice and fax number. The aastralink will auto-detect if an incoming call is a fax (using the fax machines CNG tone). If it is a fax, it routes it to the fax machine. It works well.

    In looking at the 3CX documentation, it looks like I have to have a caller manually enter the fax machines extension or use DID (and have to publish to all clients that out fax number has changed, and change all of our literature).

    Does the 3CX system really lack they ability to discern CNG tones and route a call to the fax server or fax extension? 3CX system seems too feature-packed to be missing a feature like this. I must be missing something.
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    226
    You pretty much have to have a dedicated fax number. You could request the feature in the ideas forum.
     
  3. JayIT

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. But that idea has been around ever since fax-modems have been in computers...detect the Fax tone and switch to fax mode. And the old aastralink did it as well. 3CX already routes based on user input (DTMF tones) and the Fax tone is just a variation of that. This is really unfortunate. 3CX is so feature-packed its saddening to think something like this could keep me from switching over.
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    226
  5. JayIT

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've enabled that, but it does not enable auto-recognition of a fax call.
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    226
    You need a dedicated fax number, either a separate trunk, or a DID. You cannot share the fax service, with voice calls, on the same number. There were stand alone analogue devices, that did fax tone detection, and could then ring out on multiple phone jacks, phone or fax machine, for those that only had a single phone line, I haven't seen one being sold for years. I suppose, it is assumed, that a 3CX user has the resources to dedicate a separate line/number for fax service, if required.

    I can't recall seeing a business listing that has the same number for both voice and fax calls. Obviously, it can, and does happen, but, it is very rare.
     
    #6 leejor, Oct 19, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2017
    NickD_3CX likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.