Automatic configuration

Discussion in 'Windows' started by matthijsolislagers, Feb 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. matthijsolislagers

    matthijsolislagers New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    For example via group policy.

    Sometimes users change settings by accident. I would like to auto configure the client for example through a login script or group policy.

    Even deskphone/headset should be configured by this auto configure. Users cannot change the settings after the client is autoconfigured.
     
  2. William400

    William400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    What type of phones are you referring to?

    While 3CX have not tested such setups, a solutions would really be dependent on the phone.

    For phones configured via a UI a password to the UI would give you the desired solution.

    For phones like Xlite / 3CX Phone / SJ your best shot would be to set the respective INI files to read only, not allowing changes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. matthijsolislagers

    matthijsolislagers New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sorry I was talking about the 3CX Voip Client. Everytime I create a new activedirectory account I have to setup the VOIP client manually becouse users are not able to. It would be a nice feature to push the configuration.

    Making the INI file read only seems to me like a good solution to prevent users from changing the settings. Altrough I still think more users have this problem and would like to see something like this built in.
     
  4. darrellchapman

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be honest with you I'm not sure that there would be much demand for that feature. However, nothing is stopping you from scripting it yourself. That's exactly what I did when I needed to deploy the client to 46 workstations. After the client was installed, I edited each of their config files via a script so that they didn't need to configure it themselves. Quite easy to do if you have the right tools. Is that something you'd be interested in?

    Darrell Chapman
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. matthijsolislagers

    matthijsolislagers New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I would be interested in that.
     
  6. darrellchapman

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry matthijsolislagers, I meant would you like me to send you a script that I used to get this done?

    Darrell Chapman
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Pentangle

    Pentangle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to add my 2p....i'd also like to see a certain amount of configuration occur via group policy or to be a config page within active directory - that would make configuration an absolute breeze (and would also allow better integration with a lot of business processes).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. darrellchapman

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    matthijsolislagers,

    I sent you that script via e-mail but also wanted to say that you can easily convert it to a .vbs script that does run upon login.

    Darrell Chapman
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. WINWARE

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0

    How did you deploy the client? Did you manully install it, or push it out with something. The reason that I ask is that we need to do this and we have SMS that we could use to push it out, but how could we do it siliently without interaction from the user?

    David Moore
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.