Avaya Aura SES and 3CX

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Fatboy40, Jul 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering if anyone here has ever setup 3CX against an Avaya Aura (Communications Manager) with SIP Enablement Services (SES).

    SES allows you to create a UDP SIP trunk with the Avaya phone system, so in theory you can then connect to any third party SIP phone system, such as 3CX.

    Thanks.
     
  2. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    No reason for not been successful.
    I did it successfully with IP Office 500V2 R6.1.

    See this post also: http://www.3cx.com/forums/avaya-integration-16962.html

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    eagle is right. there is no reason why it should not work. the SES server will allow you to connect to other sip platforms the same as the 3cx does. it should be pretty easy.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys.

    I wanted to start a specific thread on this, as other threads relate to the IP Office which is a different beast from the Aura/CM.
     
  5. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    The maintainer of our Avaya Aura has come back to me with a rough idea of pricing, it's going to be £10,000 (GBP) for the SES server.

    I was hoping it would be no more than £4,000 as at that price I would just go ahead and buy it.

    £10k is crazy money just to enable a phone system to be able to support UDP SIP trunks. I can see why they do it though, it stops you from buying a competitors phone system !.
     
  6. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    you could always intergrate with pri and not sip trunks. the pri on the Aura will support most features of a SIP trunk and cost way less.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    You've got me interested, now reel me in :)

    So the Aura out to something like this...

    http://www.patton.com/products/product_detail.asp?id=354

    ... which 3CX then uses ?.
     
  8. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    exactly. the avaya is real good at doing any kind of routing that you need. and the 3cx is a good compliment by allowing sip phones and trunks at a pretty good reasonable price.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can you share more details about your Avaya configuration ?
    I will try to get a price for you from local distributor (our company is also Avaya partner).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Fatboy40

    Fatboy40 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi eagle2,

    Thanks for the offer, however, I'm now more inclined to go down the Patton route as that way I'm not getting further locked into Avaya hardware and software.

    I've sent an e-mail to Patton after some pre-sales advice and I'll see what their reply is.

    Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.