• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Basic Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

mydigia

Reaction score
Hello All 3CXers...

I am a newbie, and have bunch of questions that appreciate your kind comments:

1) is 3CX capable of connecting to my modem (connected to my motherboard, and works, since I use it for receiving/sending faxes) to make calls? Does it have to be specific model or what? I want 3CX to be able to connect to this modem, so that extensions (local and remote) can make calls.

2) what ports must be forwarded from my router to 3cx machine (NATing) so that remote extensions work? This system is used in a country that VoIP is filtered all together, so can ports be changed?

3) can 3CX work on VPN connections?

My final goal is to benefit from my computer back home, and using 3CX, call locally through the modem on that machine, via my remote extensions, and save on international calls by making them local.

Your kind comments are appreciated.

Thank you!
Ali.

mydigia said:
1) is 3CX capable of connecting to my modem (connected to my motherboard, and works, since I use it for receiving/sending faxes) to make calls? Does it have to be specific model or what? I want 3CX to be able to connect to this modem, so that extensions (local and remote) can make calls.

No, you can't use a computer modem, you will require a SIP Gateway to connect to the local PSTN line.(look up an SPA-3102)

2) what ports must be forwarded from my router to 3cx machine (NATing) so that remote extensions work? This system is used in a country that VoIP is filtered all together, so can ports be changed?

You could make use of the 3CX Tunnel feature to connect to the 3CX Windows phone running on a remote laptop. It uses a single port (default 5090) to communicate over. I believe that can be changed.

3) can 3CX work on VPN connections?