Beginners Question

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by WimVM, Aug 25, 2007.

  1. WimVM

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Our phone operator installed a ISDN Network Terminator type NT1-2ab 4B3T. This device is able to handle 2 analog (RJ11) and 2 digital (RJ45 ISDN) devices. On this device we have our main phone number and a MSN number. But how do I now link this to the network. We have IP phones from LinkSys type SPA962. The MSN is plugged into the analog port and is used for our fax. This works fine.

    Do I need some interface device between this terminator and the VOIP network? If yes, then please specify what type of device. We probably will use a LinkSys device because our phones are from LinkSys.

    Will it be possible to handle multiple incoming calls in this setup?

    Thanks.
     
  2. WimVM

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is nobody able to help on this? How should I connect our ISDN terminator to the network?

    Thanks,
     
  3. AlecM

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you need a VoIP Gateway.

    The gateway is a hardware box that can convert either analogue or ISDN (or both) lines to conenct to your internal IP LAN.

    E.g. Grandstream GWX-4104 has support for four analogue lines. You will need to spend a bit more in order to get the ISDN support. Asterisk do PCI cards with this capability as well.

    Hope that helps!
     
  4. WimVM

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was told that a simple ISDN modem card also would do the job. Is this correct?
     
  5. zensoftware

    zensoftware New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Yes you do need a VOIP Gateway Router.

    3CX theoreticaly supports any VOIP gateway routers, however there are several that have been fully tested and have templates created for them.

    From my personal experience I would choose a Patton Device.

    For two ISDN 'BRI' Interfaces you would need a Smartnode 4552

    Cheers

    Neil

    If you are looking for a supplier in the try VOIPON
     
  6. WimVM

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I have ordered the device Smartnode 4552 after reviewing it.
     

Share This Page