• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Best Practices / Best Solution

Status
Not open for further replies.

andrew_s

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to 3CX and evaluating the solution. There are many "supported" phones, gateways, trunks, and hosting solutions. I am trying to determine if there is a most preferred solution that people have found with cost not interfering with the recommendation. Looking to see if there a solution that has the least amount of problems. Sorry if this has been discussed before, and if so if you could link the thread that would be great. Searched myself and could not find it.

Questions:
1. Cloud or on Premise?
2. Which gateways/trunks are best for either solution?
3. What is the least problematic handset?
4. What pitfalls to avoid with 3CX?
5. Which version of 3CX?(windows or linux? and also which build version)

If anyone has found the "magic" mix, please submit your solution and tell me why it's the "best".

Thank you!

Hi Andrew

The questions should not be answered from a 3CX point of view but from your use case.

1. Cloud or on Premise?
Depends on your use case - are most of your staff working remotely? How big is your deployment? Do you already manage servers in the cloud on amazon, google, or OVH or another hoster?

Depends on your internet connection. SIP trunks are the way to go if your internet speed can handle it. If you want to use 3CX in the Cloud you must use SIP trunks anyway.

All supported handsets. Firmwares are tested and phones are fully supported by our support team.

Do not use unsupported trunks or phones.

Depends on your inhouse know how. If you have Windows Servers/ Machines in your office and are comfortable managing that, use the Windows version. In the cloud or on an appliance, use Linux

Hope that helps.

regards,

Reactions: mortenjorge
It does, thank you

Andrew,